Merit's Fashion Sense - Simple & Comfy Wears

I dress myself, not to impress, but for comfort and for style.
Lindsey Wixson

If I should describe my wardrobe fashion sense... I am totally for whatever is comfortable and very easy to wear. If a wear stresses me even a little bit, I tend not wear it too often and that would mean using the easy ones a lot more often than I should. So my wardrobe is filled with wears that are either very comfortable when I wear them or very easy to wear.

Maybe a bit of impressing with my dressing but it is a 4 out of 10 on a scale. I have to impress who I go out to convince, ask of something from or get a job from so yeah but more of the comfy and easy wears for me.

IMG_9261.jpeg

IMG_20220724_155520.jpg

The thing with easy wears, there's only little designs on them and I mean, those heavy designs that gets very uncomfortable for as long as you wear and I think the comfortable feeling comes from the kind of materials used and the style of the dressing. I appreciate these things a lot in my dressing, whether I go for the cheap or expensive ones.

So focusing on the questions asked in the prompt, here is more details about my fashion story. There's nothing special in it but it is what people address me with so it does matters a lot to me.

Wears that can not be found in your wardrobe.

IMG_20230907_074349.jpg

IMG_20240203_161417_492.jpg

I am not a lover of lace wears but I've come to learn that there are the lace wears that are quite comfortable to wear and for as long as you want to. I remember a lace wear I had some years back, I only wore it twice and dumped it because it kept giving me itches that I hate to feel when I go out.

Some years back, you won't find trousers in my wardrobe but not anymore. It could have easily been one of the kind of wears that can not be in my wardrobe but now, it is those boyish wears and hard lace wears you won't find.

An old wear that's still a favourite.

IMG_20230211_131628.jpg

I think I've written about this jacket somewhere, to show the extent of my love for it ever since I got. Right now, it's getting a bit worn out so I'm planning on how to get a very nice one that could replace it without me feeling like I've lost my favourite.

This jacket has gone through a lot for me, always matching most of my wears and so I don't think hard to add it up whenever I dress up for a function. I think I've had this jacket since the year before I got admission into the university, that's like 6-7 years now and I still have it in my wardrobe.

How often do you decide to dress up well?

IMG_20221225_100303.jpg

IMG_20221009_121838.jpg

Not as often as the times I dress casually and I think that has a lot to do with the fact that I'm not the type that goes out a lot. I'm mostly at home so dressing up in a very comfortable and casual wear is the way to go. I decide to dress up when I have to go out, take a long walk away from home, travel, visit someone or go to parties.

They may not happen too often but I make sure to dress well to fit each occasion for the sole purpose of having my confidence intact and have a good day. My dressing style is a confidence booster so I make sure to keep that in mind when I want to buy a new wear or pick one for an outing.

This is my entry for the Hive naija prompt and you're invited to participate too.

Images used are all mine
20240101_094050_0000.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments