Introducing myself: how I found my passion in the music field.

Hey everyone, how is everyone doing? My name is Eve and I am from Benue state but reside in Abuja Nigeria. I am a singer and live performer. I know that by now you'd be wondering Who a live performer is. A live performer is a singer that does live music. This kind of music is not pre recorded. It is sang on the spot With every instrument being played live. It is also called a live band. We entertain the audience with live versions of genres of music from around the world. Live band is so fun and versatile and it is one of the fields of music that I am happy and proud to talk about anytime, any day.

Music has always been my passion from when I became a conscious person. From a young age, I always got compliments when I sang. It made my head swell as you would know🤭. But as time went on and I grew older, I realized that music is very broad and in other to make a career out of it, I had to pick a niche. I tried a few fields in music including songwriting, background vocals, recording songs and all. These were amazing but I still felt like there is more I can do. I felt like a puzzle missing its piece. I had to find what would complete me.

One day, a friend of mine sent me a flier of a band looking for a singer and that they would be having an audition soon. I kept wondering why he would that ‘cos I am not a live singer. I had always sang at home and recorded a few songs but Not to a crowd. What if I flop? Abeg o😂. He kept persuading that I go for the audition and just try cos he knew the Sapa mode I was in in school. I went for this audition and Only 4 people were picked. Guess what?? I was one of them! You don't mean it😂😂. The next thing I know, I was added to a WhatsApp group was given 10 songs to score. 10 songs?? Where do i start? I was given only a week to score these songs. Wow! I took the challenge and scored the songs. I can't really remember the full list of songs but I remember I Will Always Love You by Whitney Houston and If I Ain’t got you by Alicia Keys was one of them. If you're a singer, you'd agree with me that that is not the easiest song to sing😭. After a week, a rehearsal day was set and I attended my first Band rehearsal. I was so anxious. When I got there, I met the other three people that were selected alongside me. Did I tell y'all that I was the only girl?? Oh yes I was. After all the guys had rehearsed, It was my turn and as the only female singer, there were a lot of expectations. I grabbed the mic and the keyboardist asked me if the key of the song (I Will Always Love You) was okay and then I replied “I’d love to attempt it first” I tried the first key and it was smooth until it was time to pitch. That wasn't a problem as the keyboardist was willing to work with me to find a suitable key for me. I sang that song and everyone was impressed. I felt so good about myself. That was when I realized that I was close to finding the missing puzzle piece!

A few days later, my boss at the time, reached out and said we had an event. An event already?? Boss, I’m still struggling with the lyrics of these songs o😭😭. That was how I had sleepless nights just because I wanted to learn these lyrics. It paid off in the end cos when I sang that song at the event, people were clapping. They even sprayed me with money. That was the first time I felt so seen and appreciated. I never knew that I could grab the attention of Such a crowd. I felt fulfilled. At that moment, I knew this was for me.

Fast forward to almost 4 years, I still love what I do and it has been a great journey. I have gained many experience and I've worked with several teams within and outside Abuja and even outside Nigeria. This experience is what I am bringing to Hive. I want to share tips and a slight insight into what being a live band singer is all about. I hope you all will enjoy my insights as I share this awesome part of my life with you all. Thank you❤️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments