Rule of thumb

The cliche that blood is thicker than water hence my sister or brother kids are also mine. This phrase is a very popular thing we say even thou we human do not know or rather keep to the gravity of those words,This is going to be my personal experience.


image credit
I am from a family of six based in Lagos ,things were going smoothly enough for us but somehow life happened,things went sideways when my dad fell sick and we had to relocate to another state entirely.This was a huge turn arounds in our lives that it felt like a movie, we had to adjust to life in our new environment.
But on the good side of this story we got closer to our cousins, we got to do things together, they taught us what we are not used to in the environment and before I forget to mention each of my cousins are of same age groups and class in school as me and my siblings but with at least a year gap but their parents tends to talk about the age difference which began to make us drift apart and at that point we began to see a lot of things as favoritism of their kids over us.
Even thou they were lot of events that happened a particular one stucked to my brain, one of my cousins which was a year older was in the same class as me but due to the family seniority and her father persisted she should be a class ahead of me. Although I didn't accept because we had our educations in different places and curriculum wise I was ahead of them, this lead to him taking a drastic decision. He decided to start splitting our tuition fees due to the fact that he was in charge due to my dad’s condition. It went on until we wrote our mock exams; when the results were out we (my cousin & I ) both passed, which was a very happy moment for me, my thoughts were at least I'd be done with secondary education and I can assist my mom due to our current situations.Fortunately for us government gave both of us a slot to write SSCE examination with a clause that we pay a certain amount.
However, with him hearing that he decided to pay my cousin's clause fee and left mine behind so that his initial plans of making her a class ahead would be fulfilled. I cried and cried that year but he didn't change his decision so my cousin did the SSCE alone and I had to wait a year behind.
This event kept on coming up on mind and the thought of it opened my mind to accepting that not everything goes according to one’s plan and I have learned let go of the thoughts that it was favoritism but just normal human nature and no one would put someone else over themselves and he was simply being just human.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center