[Eng/Spa] Losing control

And one fine day your body decides to turn against you, reveals itself, firmly refuses to obey you and decides to listen to every crazy thing your mind whispers to it. It gives in to fear and chaos ensues.

Y un buen día tu cuerpo decide ponerse en tu contra, se revela, se niega firmemente a obedecerte y decide escuchar cada locura que tu mente le susurra. Se deja llevar por el miedo y se desata el caos.

img_0.015016789326162214.jpg

There is nothing more powerful than the mind. It is capable of lifting us up and also of throwing us hard against the ground. It controls our body, our attitudes and in short I would say our life completely. It does and undoes as it pleases and in my particular case I rarely get to be the one in charge. He always ends up doing what he wants without realizing that we are part of a whole.


As you know I have been suffering from panic attacks for a long time and it is something I struggle with every day. They started in a brutal way, so sudden that I didn't want to fight with my strength just because I was simply overcome and I decided immediately to accept the medication because the state of desperation to which these crises took me was something so desperate that I was really afraid of making an attempt on my life. So I started my treatment. And it wasn't a total improvement but I didn't feel so lost.

Definitivamente no hay nada más poderoso que la mente. Es capaz de levantarnos y también de lanzarnos con fuerza contra el suelo. Controla nuestro cuerpo, nuestras actitudes y en definitiva diría que nuestra vida por completo. Ella hace y deshace a su antojo y en mi caso particular muy pocas veces logró ser yo la que manda. Ella siempre termina haciendo lo que quiere sin darse cuenta que somos parte de un todo.

Cómo saben hace un tiempo sufro de ataques de pánico y es algo con lo que lucho diariamente. Iniciaron de una manera brutal, tan de golpe que no quise luchar con mis fuerzas solamente porque simplemente me sobrepasó y decidí de inmediato aceptar la medicación pues el estado de desesperación al que me llevaban éstas crisis eran algo tan desesperantes que la verdad tenía miedo de atentar contra mi vida. Así que comencé mi tratamiento. Y no fue una mejoría total pero no me sentía tan perdida.

img_0.8626202768463755.jpg

Time went by and between the medication, breathing exercises and my meditation audios I was able to control everything and I felt calmer, to the point that I decided to stop taking the medication. The truth is that I did not want to depend on medication, I have always thought that we are capable of controlling our mind and therefore our emotions.


Many people who care about me, about my health, advised me to look for other alternatives, that I was too young to take medication. They told me about the dependency it creates. Even for being a Christian many have told me "seek more of God, you should pray more, rebuke the enemy" and any other phrase you can imagine. But I believe that this is something that you have to live it to realize that it is not something spiritual, nor is it a lack of will or self-control. It is a physical reaction, it is a disease, which like others requires medication.

Pasó el tiempo y entre la medicación, los ejercicios de respiración y mis audios de meditación pude ir controlando todo y me sentía más tranquila, al punto que decidí ir dejando la medicación. La verdad no quería depender de un medicamento, siempre he pensado que somos capaces de controlar nuestra mente y por ende nuestras emociones.

Mucha gente que se preocupa por mi, por mi salud me aconsejo que buscará otras alternativas, que era muy joven para tomar medicación. Me hablaban de la dependencia que crea. Incluso por ser cristiana muchos me han dicho "busca más de Dios, debes orar más, reprende al enemigo" y cuánta frase se puedan imaginar. Pero creo que ésto es algo que hay que vivirlo para darse cuenta que no es algo espiritual ni es falta de voluntad, ni de dominio propio. Es una reacción física, es una enfermedad, que como otras requiere medicación.

img_0.884848549864234.jpg

I don't mean that you can't get out of it and get off the medication. In my house I have both extremes; my husband used to take Rivotril to control his panic attacks and with psychological help, a lot of support from me and some miracle apparently he was able to overcome that stage of darkness. On the other side is my mom who has dealt with anxiety and depression for many years and is still on medication.


Anyway, all the comments and suggestions at some point made an impact on me and I, who am not pro medication, decided to stop. I started skipping the night dose, every other day, then I stopped it completely so I continued with the morning dose until I was no longer taking Alpram, which is the medication I take.


I was really happy, knowing that I was not dependent on it and that I was in control of myself and my body again was great. From time to time I had some anxiety but I managed to handle it.

No quiero decir que no se pueda salir de ella y liberarse de la medicación. En mi casa tengo los dos extremos; mi esposo tomaba Rivotril para controlar sus ataques de pánico y con ayuda psicológica, mucho apoyo de mi parte y algún milagro aparentemente pudo superar ésa etapa de oscuridad. Por el otro lado está mi mamá quien ha lidiado desde hace muchísimos años con la ansiedad y la depresión y aún continua medicada.

En fin que todos los comentarios y sugerencias en algún punto hicieron mella en mi y yo que no soy pro medicamentos decidí dejarlo. Comencé saltando la dosis de la noche, un día si uno no, luego la dejé por completo así que continúe con la de la mañana hasta que ya no tomaba Alpram, que es el medicamento que tomo.

La verdad me sentí feliz, saber que no dependía de eso y que tenía control de mí y de mi cuerpo nuevamente fue genial. De vez cuando tenía algo de ansiedad pero lograba manejarlo.

img_0.1291804264740148.jpg

The seizures started to become a little more frequent and I was still not taking my medication. Many times my day was spent fighting my mind and the sensations in my body. Believe me it is exhausting! Trying to control your body because your mind keeps repeating "you are going to die" is really hard. Maybe for others it is something easy to control, in fact until it happened to me I thought it was. The truth is that it is not.


It was an almost daily struggle, each time they were repeated more frequently but in an intensity that I could handle. But these days my youngest daughter Miranda got sick and maybe that affected the little stability I had left. I started to worry and something that happens with this is that once it starts, it is very difficult to control it. It is very hard for me.

Las crisis comenzaron a ser un poco más frecuentes y yo seguía sin tomar la medicación. Muchas veces se me iba el día luchando contra mi mente y las sensaciones de mi cuerpo. Créanme que es agotador! Tratar de controlar tu cuerpo porque tu mente no para de repetir "te vas a morir" es realmente duro. Quizá para otros sea algo fácil de controlar, de hecho hasta que me pasó yo creí era así, pero la verdad es que no lo es.

Era una lucha casi diaria, cada vez se repetían con más frecuencia pero en una intensidad que podía manejar. Pero en estos días enfermó Miranda mi hija menor y quizá eso afectó la poca estabilidad que me quedaba. Me comencé a preocupar y algo que sucede con ésto es que una vez que arranca cuesta mucho controlarlo. A mí me cuesta mucho.

img_0.03204468384642611.jpg

I started taking Alpran again when I felt very bad. Only at those times. But anything would make me lose control. For example a few weeks ago a friend told me that her sister-in-law had suffered a CVE (Cerebrovascular Event) and that was enough for my mind to go completely crazy that night and drag my body with it.


I just happened to have a severe headache at that moment (something that happens to me very often lately) and my mind, which apparently takes immense pleasure in torturing me, started screaming loudly "it's a CVE! You're going to die!" No matter how much I repeated to myself that it was the cervical or maybe it was my eyesight, there was no way. His voice is always louder than mine and my body decides to believe every stupid thing he says and goes into crisis.


The two of them play with me as they please. Another Alpram, more prayers, more audios, cold water on my arms and neck and we get through another crisis. We end up exhausted, with no desire to get out of bed because it is something that consumes even the strength of my spirit. The energy robs me of my peace, I feel it takes my life little by little.

Comencé a tomar el Alpram nuevamente cuando me sentía muy mal. Sólo en esos momentos. Pero cualquier cosa me hacía perder el control. Por ejemplo hace unas semanas una amiga me dijo que su cuñada había sufrido un EVC (Evento Cerebro Vascular) y eso fue suficiente para que ésa noche mi mente enloqueciera por completo y arrastrara a mi cuerpo consigo.

Justamente tenía un fuerte dolor de cabeza en ése momento (cosa que me ocurre con mucha frecuencia últimamente) y mi mente que al parecer siente un inmenso placer en torturarme comenzó a gritar con fuerzas "es un EVC! Te vas a morir!" Por más que me repetía que era la cervical o quizá la vista no había manera. Su voz siempre es más fuerte que la mía y mi cuerpo decide creerle cada estupidez que le dice y entra en crisis.

Los dos juegan conmigo a su antojo. Otro Alpram, más oraciones, más audios, agua fría en los brazos y el cuello y superamos otra crisis. Terminamos agotados, sin deseos de levantarnos de la cama porque es algo que consume hasta las fuerzas de mi espíritu. Me roba la paz la energía, siento se lleva mi vida de a poquito.

img_0.8828425299790625.jpg

Days went by, again small flashes of anxiety that I managed to control without major problems, especially when I slept. I don't really understand why it happens. But it is right there, when I go to bed, that the revolution in my chest starts to scare me, to worry me and to think that my husband will find me dead next to him one of these days. The truth is that no one can imagine what it is like to live this way.


In the meantime I am having good days and not so good days. Days in which I thank God because anxiety did not visit me and others in which I ask him with all my strength to take her away. As it happened to me on Monday, it was undoubtedly the worst crisis of all.


That day I was talking a lot with my mom as she constantly complains because my sisters don't call her (both are out of the country), she says my sisters blame her and she doesn't know what for! Those of you who have read me before know a little about this. They know that we didn't have an easy childhood or teenage years. Mom took care of that.

Pasaban los días, otra vez pequeños destellos de ansiedad que lograba controlar sin mayor problema, sobre todo al momento de dormir. Cosa que realmente no entiendo por qué sucede. Pero es justo ahí, cuando me acuesto que comienza la revolución en mi pecho a asustarme a preocupar y pensar que mi esposo un día de éstos me va a encontrar muerta a su lado. La verdad nadie puede imaginar lo que es vivir de ésta manera.

Mientras tantos voy teniendo días buenos y no tan buenos. Días en los que agradezco a Dios porque la ansiedad no me visitó y otros en los que le pido con todas mis fuerzas que se la lleve. Tal como me ocurrió el lunes, sin lugar a dudas ha sido la peor crisis de todas.

Ese día estuve hablando mucho con mi mamá ya que ella se queja constantemente porque mis hermanas no la llaman (ambas están fuera del país), dice que mis hermanas la culpan y no sabe de qué! Los que me han leído antes saben un poco sobre esto. Saben que no tuvimos una infancia ni una adolescencia fácil. Mamá se encargó de eso.

img_0.36672411257774407.jpg

Anyway, she complained and I reminded her of the many things she did and she said she always wanted the best for us without accepting that her actions hurt us a lot. Anyway, too many things were stirred up, too many feelings and memories that I struggle to bury but sadly they are there.


On the other hand, he had no better idea than to tell me that a lady in town died of a heart attack, that she started with headaches and nausea and then she was found dead. O sea!!!! Material for my mind who obviously did not miss the opportunity to have fun playing with me.


In the afternoon a bad headache. Two different pills and nothing. Night came and it was the same, I drank coffee and nothing improved. I was scared, my chest hurt, my arms were tingling. ALL symptoms of a panic attack and although I was aware of it, my mind cared very little about what I thought.

En fin ella se quejaba y yo le recordé la cantidad de cosas que hizo. Su respuesta fue que siempre quiso lo mejor para nosotras sin aceptar que su actuar nos hizo mucho daño. En fin, se alborotaron demasiadas cosas, demasiados sentimientos y recuerdos que lucho por enterrar pero que tristemente están ahí.

Por otro lado no tuvo mejor idea que decirme que en el pueblo murió una señora de un infarto, que comenzó con dolores de cabeza y náuseas y luego la encontraron muerta. O sea!!!! Material para mí mente quien obviamente no perdió la oportunidad de divertirse jugando conmigo.

En la tarde un dolor de cabeza fuerte. Dos pastillas diferentes y nada. Llegó la noche y seguía igual, tome café y nada mejoraba. Comenzó el susto, me dolía el pecho, me hormigueaban los brazos. TODOS síntomas de un ataque de pánico y aunque yo estaba consciente de eso a mí mente le importaba muy poco lo que yo pensara.

img_0.3835475408890371.jpg

He pushed every button he could get his hands on and I reached a state of despair I had never felt before. I usually manage to lie down and listen to the audios.... Not even that I could do, I walked frantically down the hallway of the house, I went into my children's room, I wanted to wake them up to hug them, I wanted to lie down with them, I wanted to tell them I loved them one more time.


I took a dose of Alpram. Not an hour had passed and I took another one. I kept walking, praying, wetting my arms. I played the audios and took them off, went to bed, got up and everything seemed to get worse. My husband was concerned but just doesn't know what to do.


I decided to take a bath, I let the water run as I shivered, I tried to breathe, I tried to calm down, to be coherent but anyone who has been through it knows that coherence is of little use when your mind has taken over. The body simply ceases to be yours and you are completely out of control.

Presionó todos los botones que tuvo a su alcance y llegué a un estado de desesperación que jamás había sentido. Generalmente logro acostarme y escuchar los audios... Ni siquiera éso podía hacer, caminaba frenéticamente por el pasillo de la casa, entraba a la habitación de mis hijos, quería despertarlos para abrazarlos, quería acostarme con ellos, quería decirles los amaba una vez más.

Me tomé una dosis de Alpram. No había pasado una hora y me tome otra. Seguía caminando, orando, mojando mis brazos. Ponía los audios y los quitaba, me acostaba, me levantaba y todo parecía empeorar. Mi esposo estaba preocupado pero simplemente no sabe qué hacer.

Decidí bañarme, dejé correr el agua mientras temblaba, trataba de respirar, trataba de calmarme, de ser coherente pero el que ha pasado por eso sabe que la coherencia sirve de muy poco cuando tu mente ha tomado el control. El cuerpo simplemente deja de ser tuyo y estás completamente fuera de control.

img_0.8944104838590899.jpg

Something I usually do is try to slow down, I start to walk slowly, breathe slowly and move the same way. When I got out of the shower I started brushing my hair as slowly as I could, I started singing to myself some church choruses. The calmness wanted to return but it was gone in seconds. I wanted to take another dose of Alpram, in fact I wanted to take the whole box, I needed it to stop now! I told my husband to hide the pills because I felt that in my desperation I could do anything crazy.


I started to feel a little sleepy from all the Alpram. Sleep but not peace. I decided to put on the meditation audio and lay down from my husband, I don't know what it is about him that helps me fall asleep.


I finally fell asleep. It was not a smooth sleep, much less a peaceful one. I woke up many times scared, but went back to sleep.


At 4 a.m. same anguish. I woke my husband to give me the Alpram...another dose and went back to bed. I woke up at 6 o'clock feeling that scare in my chest but definitely calmer.

Algo que suelo hacer es tratar de bajar el ritmo, comienzo a caminar despacio, respirar despacio y moverme de igual manera. Al salir de la duche comencé a cepillar mi cabello lo más lento que podía, comencé a cantar para mí algunos coros de la iglesia. La calma quería regresar pero se iba en segundos. Quería tomar otra dosis del Alpram, de hecho quería tomar la caja entera, necesitaba que eso parará ya! Le dije a mi esposo escondiera las pastillas porque sentía que en mi desespero podía hacer cualquier locura.

Comencé a sentir algo de sueño producto de tanto Alpram. Sueño pero no paz. Decidí poner el audio de meditación y recostarme de mi esposo, no sé que tiene él que me ayuda a conciliar el sueño.

Finalmente me dormí. No fue un sueño corrido, ni mucho menos tranquilo. Desperté muchas veces asustada, pero volvía a dormir.

A las 4 de la madrugada misma angustia. Desperté a mi esposo para que me diera el Alpram...otra dosis y volví a la cama. Desperté a las 6 sintiendo ese susto en el pecho pero en definitiva más calmada.

img_0.687327305664469.jpg

I decided I needed to find out the reason for my headaches so I had lab work done. And everything was fine thank God. I made an appointment to go to a psychiatrist for the first time after starting the crises because I definitely can't and I refuse to go on like this.


I need help, for me and for my family. I need to be well and if I am going to get it thanks to a pill, that's what I will do! I can't go on living like this. Maybe later with psychological help I can cope without medication but at the moment I can't afford to pay for two weekly consultations who knows for how long. So unfortunately that is not an option at the moment.


Tomorrow I'm going to get my eyes checked, get new glasses made and then go to my cervical. There are too many things that I have been letting go that ultimately have led me to this lack of control that I have today.

Decidí que necesitaba descubrir el motivo de mis dolores de cabeza así que me hice exámenes de laboratorio. Y todo bien gracias a Dios. Tome cita para por primera vez después de iniciar las crisis para ir al psiquiatra porque definitivamente no puedo y me niego a seguir así.

Necesito ayuda, por mí y por mi familia. Necesito estar bien y si lo voy a obtener gracias a una pastilla eso haré! No puedo seguir viviendo así. Quizá luego con ayuda psicológica pueda enfrentarlo sin medicación pero de momento a nivel económico no puedo pagar dos consultas semanales quien sabe por cuánto tiempo. Así que lamentablemente eso de momento no es una opción.

Mañana iré a revisar mi vista, hacer nuevos lentes y luego voy con mi cervical. Hay demasiadas cosas que he ido dejando pasar que en definitiva me han llevado a éste descontrol que hoy tengo.

img_0.4838778830507446.jpg

Yesterday (Tuesday) I was exhausted, with fear in my chest, with moments in which the crisis wanted to come back with force... At noon another dose of Alpram, which never calms me down completely. I spent the day in another room, alone, almost without seeing my children. I was really not well.


My mind convinced me of the insanity that something supernatural was going on in my room because as soon as I entered my room I felt sick. I even thought about talking to my pastor and having him come and pray here. That's as far as I went!


I slept all afternoon and when I woke up I was still tired. I wanted to go out and clear my mind but my body wouldn't let me. I wanted to write a little but I had no strength. I felt bad again and decided to force myself to finish a post I had half written and to my surprise I calmed down until I was myself again.


I finished posting and with some sleep I wanted to go to sleep then the fear came back. I was afraid to go to my room and feel bad again! And that's how anxiety is, when you are not sick because you are in the middle of a crisis, you are scared thinking about when the next one will come?

El día de ayer (martes) estuve agotada, con el susto en el pecho, con momentos en que la crisis quería volver con fuerza... A medio día otra dosis de Alpram, que jamás me calma por completo. Pasé el día en otra habitación, sola, sin casi ver a mis niños. Realmente no estaba bien.

Mi mente me convenció de la locura que algo sobrenatural sucedía en mi cuarto porque apenas entrar en él me sentía mal. Incluso pensé hablar a mi pastor y que viniera a orar aquí. Hasta ese punto llegué!

Dormí toda la tarde y al despertar seguía cansada. Quería salir a despejar la mente pero el cuerpo no me daba. Quería escribir un poco pero no tenía fuerzas. Me sentí mal otra vez y decidí obligarme a terminar un post que tenía a medio escribir y para mí sorpresa me fui calmando hasta volver a ser yo.

Termine de publicar y con algo de sueño quise ir a dormir entonces regresó el miedo. Tenía miedo de ir a mi habitación y sentirme mal otra vez! Y es que así es esto de la ansiedad, cuando no estás mal porque estás en plena crisis, estás asustado pensando en cuándo vendrá la próxima...

img_0.731116121583772.jpg

Imágenes por:| Image by: Canva

Edición por:| Edtion by:
@rlathulerie on Canva

Traducido con:| Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center