A sweet memory of relaxation.

IMG_7024.jpg

I have never had a massage before in my life. Only my visits to the chiropractor, that have been very effective but we are talking about pure pain and not about pleasure :)


These days are dedicated to the garden and the olive yards. Being out of the island for a while means that a lot of work had been waiting for us and although I try to listen to my body and respect it, well, I can feel every little muscle waking up from the long rest and almost every bone declaring its presence :)

Super active, but always daydreamer as well. And today I keep thinking of the amazing massage I had a few days ago when I was still a carefree traveler. And thoughts that keep popping up. A reminder to myself not to cross the line and to remember to have fun.


The massage took place in the old town of Nafplio, in a salon hidden in the narrow streets.

The place is called "Πάντα ρει", which means "Everything flows" and comes from a phrase of the ancient Greek philosopher Heraclitus that he believed that everything changes and nothing stays the same. I don't believe there is a single person on earth disagreeing with that :)

You cannot step twice into the same river.

IMG_6999.jpg


Usually I am very skeptical when people claim they do things based on ancient Greek knowledge, sounds like a touristic trap. But this one had the best reviews and my intuition was shouting Go for it!

The atmosphere is already cozy from the outside.

This is how they describe this type of massage:

IMG_7001.jpg

Even cozier inside!

IMG_7003.jpg

IMG_7004.jpg

IMG_7005.jpg

My room was private (thankfully!).

IMG_7006.jpg


And here we are! Before we even start, I am already more relaxed. The soft lighting, the candles, the essential oils and the soft music did their work. The massage lasts 60' normally, but mine took around 75'. My blocks refused to leave me alone with a stranger. But he did a good job!

IMG_7007.jpg

IMG_7008.jpg

There must be a good reason that fire is an important element in almost every ritual, religious or not. The warmth and protection that offers help you relax deeper, let everything go.

IMG_7009.jpg

The warm oil was fantastic and cupping is always my favorite part (maybe because it is the only phase without pain in a chiropractic session, haha!).

At the end of the session, I saw all these pictures with the unknown to me symbols and some great masters that were observing me (or protecting me) throughout the procedure.


All good things come to an end, but they wouldn't be special otherwise.
Not to forget, that all "bad" things come to an end, too.
I like what a friend always says, especially in weird situations:

Who knows why this is a good thing...

IMG_7018.jpg

Since I was thinking about it the whole day, I decided to write this post as a reminder to myself and anyone who needs to hear it. Pleasure is in small things, a candle, a nice smell, a therapeutic touch. We all deserve the best. And it could be really simple.


The two photos below were taken before and after the session. The harsh sun had sweetened and everything seemed easier :)

Never forget to honor ourselves!



All the pictures and the words are mine.

If you would like to know more about me this is my introduction post!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center