To know us better - My introduction post

Hello! I'm Fotini.

After such a long time reading your stories and hearing your news through @fotostef, I decided that it was about time to really get involved with this beautiful promising project and share with you my
story and what I do in this life. So, special thanks to my partner @fotostef for introducing me to this world.

IMG_1890.jpg

We have chosen one of the smallest spots on Earth as a base, a tiny village of 100 people at the
island of Crete. More specifically I am “broadcasting” from the eastern part of the island, a quiet
isolated place, which especially now under the current circumstances seems as close as I can think
of to a dream.

I didn't always have this lonely isolated monk life style :)

I grew up in one of the most beautiful cities of Greece, Nafplio...

IMG_3232.jpg

and spent my adult life in Athens.

I must admit I have a “sinful” past, studying Economics and working in Advertising, so moving close
to nature was a great leap of faith in my life. Actually, it was an intuitive great desire to come in contact with the soil and a more natural way of living.

IMG_1478.jpg

And yes, I became an organic farmer! Out of nowhere! We found abandoned land, free of chemicals for decades, we rolled up our sleeves and started experimenting. We worked very hard. And we failed. And then we tried again. And it started working. Almost 8 years later we produce a high quality organic extra virgin olive oil that we are so proud of and some powerful organic herbs. I am so into healthy eating and natural medicine, I think they are going to be basic subjects for me here, as they are fundamental in my daily life.

IMG_9285.jpg

I am also a weaver. Yes, a traditional one, that makes things the slow way. Only that I don't weave
traditional patterns. I love the idea of the handmade in general. And I really love transmuting this knowledge in wefts that come right out of my heart. I would like to share with you what I do and if you are interested we could even go deep into the procedure of the magic transformation of some threads into cloth.

IMG_8988-2.jpg

IMG_9072.jpg

IMG_9502.jpg

IMG_1397.jpg

I think I was born to live with dogs. I found it out at 25, again the credits go to @fotostef that
brought to my life apart from himself his amazing dog, Morfeas, that became my dog, too. Now I can't imagine how life is without a dog, both magical and frustrating consequences of this living together.

IMG_20181106_223723_HHT.jpg

The years passed and Morfeas passed to another land. So, Markos took advantage of the empty spot and sneaked in our lives and I am so grateful that he did! So, maybe dog stories, too? Definitely!

_MG_2390.jpg

IMG_6677.jpg

Once upon a time I was a keen reader, especially literature, but in reality I was a bookworm reading
whatever came in my way! These last years, with the birds singing and the colors of Nature outside
my door being so vivid it's not easy for me to concentrate on a page.
I just like observing every little detail and change. I wish we could appreciate Earth's beauty more, our lives would fly to another level.

_MG_3278-2.jpg

I am a quite impatient person, so imagine when I first realized that if you do sth wrong in
cultivating, you maybe have to wait for the whole year to pass to try again. Inevitably I started
embracing a slower way of living and doing things. When I achieve a quiet state of mind is one of
my happy moments.

IMG_9308.jpg

I love the sea, long dog walks at the mountain, tea rituals, books, movies and music, old houses and abandoned places, amazing stories of every day people just where you don't expect it, flowers blossoming, nice food. My small rituals and the beauty of small things bring me down to Earth.

IMG_5603.jpg

And I will be extremely happy to share with you my own story through farming, foraging, hiking, traveling and exploring, nature, healing, feelings and thoughts, and it would be great if all this ends up to something beautiful!

IMG_2889.jpg

Thank you all so much for your time!

PS 1. Special thanks to @fotostef for the wonderful photos! You might have already seen some of them or similar to them at his account in previous posts.
So, all photos belong to my personal photographer, apart from one :) Can you guess???

PS 2. Thank you @sjarvie5 for the amazing info for beginners! I still don't understand much about crypto, but you sure made my entrance to the blog community so much smoother!

PS 3. And definitely thanks to @soyrosa for the amazing inspiration in hard times ;)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
39 Comments
Ecency