I Still Connect To My Inner Child

Photo by Mumtahina Tanni:

We all were once children who only craved nothing but to be fed when we were hungry. To play outside with kids of our age, ruffle ourselves in the sands, jump around in the rain, and play football in the local street field with our makeshift goal post and all.

We bothered about nothing at all then and nothing bothered us. All we craved for then was just to enjoy life.

But then came adulthood, and we were happy to be transitioning to a bigger stage of our lives with the intention that we would be happier than when we were kids. But as adulthood hits us so hard we discover that it's different from what we experienced as kids.

Adulthood came with a lot of responsibilities and shitty emotions and even dealing with humans that are not humane enough.

Then we go back to wishing to be a child where everything was free and provided for us with less worry. Sometimes we wish to connect to our inner child to feel what we felt back then as kids.

And I wouldn't lie to you; from time to time, I still try to relive life as a kid. I try to reconnect with the life I lived as a kid, my inner child.

In fact, on a steady basis, while in the comfort of my home, I try to feel like a child, especially after a hard day at work. It might sound stupid, but sometimes that's what helps me relax.

Once I get home from work, tired, the first thing I do is to get my work clothes off and walk about my apartment naked. From time to time, I still buy cerelac, which is known as a baby food, and eat it. I still dip my bread inside my tea (I don't care if you all call it gross). I still jump around and sometimes bathe in the rain (mostly when I'm back at my family house). I still watch cartoons (Nickelodeon is one of my favourite channels). I play cards with kids in my apartment and hold conversations with them reminding myself how innocent our thoughts were as kids until adulthood came with its responsibilities.

I can go on and on because, to me, connecting to my inner child makes me pretend for a moment that there's nothing to bother about or nothing bothering me. It makes me feel in that tiny moment that everything is fine, and then I hide myself from the struggles of adulthood until the next day when they continue.

And it has made me nothing but a happier man who has learnt to sometimes live life with the mindset of a kid.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center