The weight of the truth we bear.

The idea of telling the truth habitually is something I've been digging into for a very long time. In fact, for the vast majority of the years I've spent on Earth, I do my best to avoid sayings things I believe to be false. In other words, I say the truth the way I see it.

truth-257160_640.jpg

Interestingly, the basics I learned about saying the truth is that it saves you from a lot of trouble.

You know what they say about 'a lie begetting more lies', right? That's how I saw it and I don't ever want to be in a situation where I would have to cook up a series of lies to lay a strong foundation for an initial lie. That's one of the reasons I saw truth-telling as an easier choice.

Well, now that I'm becoming more experienced in life and consciously learning the weight that comes with being a truth-sayer, I've come to realize that saying the truth is not always as easy as I thought.

Whether you are saying the truth to yourself or those around you or you are just saying the truth about the anomalies in a society, you sure have to be prepared to face the consequences of that.

  • For yourself, the truth you tell yourself about the things you are doing wrong can hurt in more ways than you can imagine.

  • The truth you tell those around you can make them worked up. I'm sure you already know what happens when people are worked up, especially when they don't want to hear the truth.

  • The truth you speak about the anomalies in a given society can put you in a lot of trouble and you will be surprised by the number of people who would happily kick seven shades of shit out of you 'just because you said the truth'.

You see, it's no bloody wonder that people choose to bottle up whatever truth they know.

They would rather tighten their lips instead of being in trouble for saying the truth. Just think of all the things going wrong in the wider Society. So many people know that these things are wrong, but how many of us are speaking up about them?

Do you still think there is something fancy about saying the truth?

Think Again!

This is funny and sad at the same time.

As far as I can tell, there are troubles attached to telling the truth and there is no shortage of troubles attached to telling lies. It simply shows that whether you are saying the truth or telling lies, there are problems that can arise from them. Now, you've got to choose your trouble carefully.

I choose to say the truth and I choose to say it as often and as carefully as possible. However, just to play devil's advocate here; let's close our thought with this question...

Can you tolerate the truth when it's about you?

Think about that for as long as you want.

C'ya.

Thanks For Not Missing Any Full-stop Or Comma

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center