Diaries of a fluffy Rican: Bread, celery, and an interesting outcome

Five days I bought a bag of bread from the discounted bakery section of my local grocery store. We had a decent amount of bread still left at home, and I was worried it would go bad.

Then I remembered a "Life Hack" video I saw on YouTube. The video claimed that if you added a stick of celery along with your bread, the celery would keep the bread from getting moldy. So I tried it.

img_20220430_205105.jpg

I didn't realize it but it's been five days since I bought the bread. Today I decided to have a piece bread with the pasta I was eating. I grabbed the bag, and scanned the bread for mold. There wasn't any, but then my eyes focused on the stick of celery, and to my surprise it has grown mold.

img_20220430_205119.jpg

I don't think I've seen moldy celery. The bread was fine, in terms of appearance. Yet I found interesting. I could only guess that the moisture from the celery somehow caused the mold to consolidate in one place. Honestly I ate the bread and it tastes fine. I also replaced the stick of celery. When I told my friend about the outcome she said the same thing happened to her. I'm curious to see if anyone else has tried this hack.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments