Birds and humans

Easy-peasy fun theme for this week's Show Me A Photo contest: birds with humanmade things! Possibilities are endless because, well... human stuff is all over!


Actually, I tend to do exactly the opposite when I photograph wildlife, trying not to capture anything humanmade! 😁 Prefer to see them on their natural habitat, in the middle of nature. But some photo opportunities are too good to pass!


666.jpg

Red-rumped swallow - Hirundo daurica

Such as this one: this swallow species is not as common as the other existing in Portugal, and during vacations in the south of Portugal, they were perching in the wires just outside my apartment! This was the first time I photographed them; from all the swallow species in my country, these are my favourites.


5555.jpg

Not that far from my apartment too, the Iberian magpie also decided to pose in a humanmade object. I probably liked the simmetry of the photo, I don't usually capture there!


111.jpg

Iberian magpie- Cyanopica cooki

Other bird species we can easilly see perched in humanmade things? Seagulls.


444.jpg

Black-headed gull - Chroicocephalus ridibundus

The black headed gulls were ever present during my stay in Como, Italy. They seemed to enjoy hanging around lake Como's margins as much as I did!


22221.jpg

Despite their slight misleading name, they only develop the dark plummage in the head (and it's dark brown, not black) during Summer; but that dark spot behind the eye is characteristic, so it's easy to identify them even in Winter.


33331.jpg

Cormorants were also a common presence near the lake.


000.jpg

Great cormorant - Phalacrocorax carbo

What better place to preen the feathers and enjoy the sun, if not in a pole near the marina, enjoying the view?


888.jpg

And there were several perches to choose, in that location!


9990.jpg

Lake Como is so beautiful, that not only species we can normally see near water were present. During my walking sessions, discovered that the hooded crows like to stare at the lake too.


777.jpg

Hooded crow - Corvus cornix

Have a great weekend, with tons of #featheredfriends!

rgazlbwpwi.png

Hive divider by doze.gif

Still haven't joined Splinterlands? In what planet do you live in? Click the banner below and join the fun! (It has my referral link; you can go directly to the website if you don't want to use it; either way... join in! 😎 )

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency