Identifying Black Redstart

In line with this week's theme of #SMaP (Show Me a Photo) Contest in Feathered Friends Community, my post is about a bird that I have identified and recently I have new photos to share.


The link to the contest is 👉Feathered Friends - Show Me A Photo Contest Round 81
I am looking forward to seeing your entries. Check it out and join us.


To start with how difficult it could be to id correctly the bird. And how easy is to make a mistake. I personally prefer to use the application Google lens, but also to keep on searching in the net other photos to compare with mine and to read about the bird I found. Any doubts, I can always ask for a second opinion.

Without any doubt this is redstart. There are two species of redstarts in Bulgaria - Black redstart and Common redstart. Which one is my birdie?

PSX_20220816_194535.jpg

Trusting Google lens app I found that this is Black redstart (Phoenicurus ochruros). The question is male or female? As the name suggests the plumage must be black, but only for the male birds, while females are brownish. They all have orange tail. Or, could it be still young bird? I have photographed fledgling in a month or two ago, but redstarts have two broods, so it can well be the second generation. Besides there is still some yellow around the beak.

PSX_20220817_074449.jpg

It is not as brown as the female I think. When I was comparing the pictures and looking at the colour of the plumage, I tend to believe this is young male redstart.
Like I said before, I would like to hear another opinion, because I could be wrong. Anyone? Any suggestions?
@ratel, @pardinus - what do you think?

PSX_20220817_074532.jpg

PSX_20220817_074719.jpg

PSX_20220817_074755.jpg

PSX_20220816_194434.jpg

This photo session is actually from yesterday, when I left the office and while crossing the factory yard, I always spot redstarts at one and the same place. So, I was ready with the camera in my hands and the little one decided to pose. It was more curious than scared and I got some nice shots. Obviously the rusty metal things outside the workshop were OK for the redstart to perch on, later it hopped in the grass.

Like other migratory birds soon the redstart will leave to the south. I have some more time to enjoy its presence and maybe to make more shots.

And that's it. For now. Once again to remind you to check the link with the contest post or if you go to the community, all contests are pinned there for your convenience.

⬇️⬇️⬇️

Don't forget to check also Let Our Picture Tell Your Story - Edition 28, hosted by @wrestlingdesires. You still have time to take part and interact with the other contestants.

Happy birding!

8SzwQc8j2KJa5zNbRVVrXkzCd9HNSAM9TwKNjpGfnZQaEUx2JQSjqPxP8u5ALcoJQQZV19pBEQhXPQExNpqKqyaaTs6d7RHPFrJE4NDRRyaFoYMkWRC.webp

80pli5.png

banner and feather divider created by @barbara-orenya

DQmbYFG7tEjDZdTkV366T3XhuJmfKzFJvTyMJfJSdw3nUWJ.png

Thank you for viewing.

If you like to share your thoughts you can leave a comment.

signature_2.gif

Ecency Love

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency