Navigating Scary & Amazing Pathways!

IMG_20230924_124440.jpg

What should have been the most exciting trip of my life, had to take a back seat ever since that fateful day ten weeks ago.

I've been in a land far away from Hive, fighting a long hard battle with a big corporate estates administrator who demanded upfront payment for their services to wind up my late husband's estate; not a shabby amount I must add!

Many widows or widowers in our country find themselves in this position when there are only assets in the estate, but no cash to cover the absurd estate costs that we have to pay.
Many are coerced into agreeing to sell their home or have it auctioned off, with the executor having the final say; one's home could be sold for next to nothing!

Thank heavens that I sought advice from the right quarters, and after a lengthy battle, I finally managed to get them to renounce the will, and pass it on to someone with some empathy!

Long saga of how our will landed up with this company, but needless to say, we neglected updating our will, so let that be a lesson for others!

I was so caught up with all this nonsense, that the long-awaited trip to visit my son in the Netherlands took a back seat. One of my bestest besties just took over and packed the cases for my trip.

It was sad getting on the plane without my man by my side but it's been the best therapy I could have asked for.

IMG_20230922_151238.jpg

The Netherlands has brought many new experiences.

I have never traveled such distances by super-efficient public transport, something we will never see in the near and distant future, in South Africa.
I'm becoming accustomed to scanning my OV smartcard to check in and out of trains and buses, and am guarding it like my life depends on it, something we South Africans cannot shake off!

IMG_20230926_114911.jpg

I've sailed the waterways and canals for leisure, and pleasure, and to get to places.

20230927_135602.jpg

Untitled 1.jpg

Walked and walked to make it in time for the next train, bus, tram, or ferry, to get to the planned venue of the day.
This is the pathway we walk between Dean and Andi's apartment, only a five-minute walk to the station!

IMG_20230923_134927.jpg

I've heard about the number of bicycles - it is said there are more bicycles in the Netherlands than there are people, as everyone cycles, from young to old, and most own more than one bicycle! This is a small parking area at the local train station, others are way bigger!
I've learned to stay on the pedestrian pathway, or else I'd be dodging bicycles.

IMG_20230923_135132.jpg

I never knew there was such a wide range of designs for various purposes, something for every need, and every member of the family, even the four-legged children!

IMG_20230926_160442.jpg

As I navigate unfamiliar ground in and around Hilversum, flying solo may not be what I want, but I can feel myself gradually finding my way again in this journey called life!

(っ◔◡◔)っ ♥ Thank You for Reading! ♥

Heart page break.png

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Copyright @lizelle – All Rights Reserved

JOIN Hive using my referral LINK


Join Hive Thrifted
LOGO FIN.png

𝙃𝙞𝙫𝙚 𝙏𝙝𝙧𝙞𝙛𝙩𝙚𝙙 𝙏𝙧𝙖𝙞𝙡𝙗𝙡𝙖𝙯𝙚𝙧𝙨

𝙒𝙤𝙪𝙡𝙙 𝙮𝙤𝙪 𝙡𝙞𝙠𝙚 𝙩𝙤 𝙚𝙖𝙧𝙣 𝙃𝘽𝘿?
𝘽𝙚𝙘𝙤𝙢𝙚 𝙖𝙣 𝙚𝙣𝙩𝙧𝙚𝙥𝙧𝙚𝙣𝙚𝙪𝙧 𝙖𝙩 𝙣𝙤 𝙘𝙤𝙨𝙩
𝙎𝙚𝙡𝙡 𝙮𝙤𝙪𝙧 𝙨𝙚𝙘𝙤𝙣𝙙-𝙝𝙖𝙣𝙙 𝙜𝙤𝙤𝙙𝙨, 𝙖𝙧𝙩𝙨 𝙖𝙣𝙙 𝙘𝙧𝙖𝙛𝙩𝙨 𝙞𝙣 𝙃𝙞𝙫𝙚 𝙏𝙝𝙧𝙞𝙛𝙩𝙚𝙙.


(っ◔◡◔)っ ♥ ♥

𝙁𝙤𝙧 𝙩𝙝𝙚 𝙔𝙤𝙪𝙣𝙜 𝙖𝙩 𝙃𝙚𝙖𝙧𝙩

Join our Silver Bloggers community Silver Bloggers footer banner 600 x 300.jpg
Artwork by @artywink

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now