Foreign Food Experience - Too early to call it quits

For someone who does not eat as often as supposed, I would say that I have an uncontrollable fondness for foreign dishes, especially Asian meals.

The mere thought of those meals makes me feel like someone that is covered with clouds of happiness. It would be interesting and adventurous to eat the likes of Biryani, Ddukbokki, Bulgogi, Jajangmyeon...name it.

bon-vivant-qom5MPOER-I-unsplash.jpg

Hehe


Here is my little experience with a Chinese food

I'd remember visiting a Chinese restaurant in the first quarter of this year while I was still serving the country in the northern part of Nigeria. The experience was bizarre. The meals didn't look the part in the slightest of ways. I was comparing the meal on my table with what I was seeing on Google, but it didn't seem to share a lot of similarities

The chef didn't look Chinese in the least way, but that didn't seem like an issue. People can learn how to cook any meal from the comfort of their home. I decided to give them benefit of the doubt. I bet that's where the bizarre experience started. The price for the meal was overpriced for predictable reasons, but I didn't care.

Who cares about paying extra #($)?

As far as I got what I asked for, there wouldn't have been any need for drama. By the time I got home, graced my table with the meal and tried to grab a bite, my facial expression transitioned to an unprintable display of disappointment.

That's certainly awkward because I've never had a Chinese meal before so, I can't state for a fact that the chef messed up. It just didn't taste as I expected, but I didn't completely write-off such meals due to that experience.

From that point, I decided to hold off from passing my review on the meal until whenever I get to eat the same meal that is prepared by a Native Chinese.


Lesson learnt, but the adventure continues...

We have a lot of sumptuous meals over here. Our special Nigerian Jollof is making a case for itself. The same goes for Egwusi and other sumptuous soups, for those that fancy soups. I can never get enough of those meals, but I don't want to live my whole life eating only Nigerian meals.

"It's high time I get a pair of stainless steel chopsticks."

I read, though from an unreliable source, that Asian meals taste better when we eat them with chopsticks 🤨.

Happy New Week ✌️

Thanks For Not Missing Any Full-stop Or Comma
Image Source
Also posted here

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center