Timing is Key - Sunday Freewrite

Below_Big_Ben_0148_1600.JPG

I was just working on a post for Sunday - then realized that one has to wait a little bit longer - you'll see why, in time.

Good Timing vs Bad Timing

I'm not very good with timing myself. I've been known to pick very bad times for broaching a sensitive subject - or launch a complaint the moment a partner comes home from work. One unfortunate time, I chose his actual birthday to bring up a very difficult subject. I'm not good at waiting when there's something important on my mind.

Because of this, waiting is very important - even if the only one that knows that I waited is me.

Interestingly, as I write this, I'm watching my youngest play a game on the computer - which involves huge amounts of perfect timing to avoid having to start over on a very crazy 2D obstacle course. If she starts at the wrong time, she will get clobbered, but if she waits a bit longer - watches for the rhythm, she can get through perfectly. (Of course, each level gets harder and harder!)

Waiting is Agonizing for the Impatient

One thing I learned years ago is to never pray for patience! That is a prayer that will always be answered - in a very challenging way. I hate waiting, but sometimes that's what allows me to complete the challenge.

However, waiting doesn't have to be down time... on the contrary...

I will ruminate over something for ages and ages... Days, weeks, months, even years... When I finally know what I'm doing and what needs to happen, I tend to act very quickly. This tends to give the illusion of impulsiveness, but I don't think I'm very impulsive at all - I just know what I want and act when I know how to do it. Saying that, I am not the super successful sort that you might associate with this sort of thinking.

Using the GATE...

When a challenge is presented to me, I follow (something like) this process - which spells GATE. (I just made this up, so maybe it works, maybe it doesn't...)

  1. Gain Information. You need to be sure that you understand the hurdles in your challenge. I spend a lot of time researching what I need to know. Whether that's a health problem that needs to be solved or a relocation that needs to be researched, I spend a lot of time gaining information.

  2. Avoid Jumping to Conclusions. (My mother always told me this!) If you form your complete conclusion too quickly, you may end up following the wrong path. Don't forget to even study the counter position (if it's an area of contention) to know what arguments you might still have to study.

  3. Think and Plan. Spend time in thoughtful prayer/meditation (whatever you prefer) as you think about the challenge you are working to overcome. Run mental simulations, if possible. Don't act until you've thought through everything you can imagine. (Talk to others if that's feasible.)

  4. Execute (or Engage.) Once you have a working plan, now is the time to act (or is it? Maybe you need to wait a little longer while something else falls into place...)

When is it time to open the GATE? Do you need to run through, walk through, or creep? Maybe you need to unlock/lock the gate... or climb over it. Only you can know the answer to that question, but thinking about it this way might just help you get the timing correct - and bring about more success to yourself and those around you.

Timing is key... the key to the GATE.

Photo of the Tower of Big Ben (London) taken in 2012 with my Pentax K100D.


Past issues...

2021
Happy 2021 to Everyone! (New Year's Day)
June 6, 2021 - Fish, Farming and the Future - including feature photo of Paul R Tregurtha
July 25, 2021 - Heartache, Health and Healing
Aug 1, 2021 - Thunder, Traits and Travel
Aug 8, 2021 - Following Freedom and the Flexibility to Change

2020
Feb 2, 2020 - Flu Sucks!
Feb 9, 2020 - Planning 2020
Feb 16, 2020 - Skating and Eating and Writing, Oh My!
Feb 23, 2020 - Chicken Scratchings and Graphics
Mar 1, 2020 - Inspections R Us
Mar 8, 2020 - New Chicks
Mar 15, 2020 - Pandemic Hits Writing
Apr 5, 2020 - Fools in April?
Jun 14, 2020 - Of Gardens and Vibes
Oct 6, 2020 - Drawing the Line - When it is time to quit (Not Sunday)
Dec 15, 2020 - Winter, Writing and Winging It (Not Sunday)



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
(Buy my work at RedBubble, TeePublic, PicFair and DeviantArt.)
verified author on Goodreads
(Buy my books at Books2Read and at LBRY)
find me on Twitter
kofi_giphy.gif





Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

Discord Link

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency