My Square Scoby: A Kombucha Tale

367FCC80-1EA2-435C-A82A-5E2CF634CB5C.jpeg

I’ve been brewing Kombucha for a little over a year now. This journey started when I was given a scoby by a friend, and I hit up good old Google for some advice. Most articles explained that Kombucha scobys need an extremely bacteria free environment to flourish, and I took that advice very literally.

Medical gloves, medical grade sanitizer, gallons of vinegar, bleach, you name it...I bought it all. To say I was being OCD about keeping my scobys clean and safe is a dramatic understatement. I even figured out the coolest space in my refrigerator to keep the scobys happy.

One day, I had my scoby-giving friend over. I over-zealously showed her all of surgical-grade Kombucha supplies, and she just starts laughing at me.

“I keep mine in the linen closet near the cat litter”, she said.

I asked, “You don’t need to be that careful?”

“No.”, she said, laughing at me.

I moved them to my linnen closet, and they’re doing so well, they formed a whole other scoby on top in the shape of the container. I’ve never seen a square scoby before, but here you go, for your viewing pleasure:

72E3AFF1-482E-44F2-A3C9-EF26D5DAE72C.jpeg

62994652-C300-4770-B17F-0D4F20AE6D40.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now