Looking for Some Peace of Mind - Karavasta Lagoon - EXPLORE YOUR NEAREST DESTINATIONS

karavasta.jpg

Hi Steemers :),

While many of you are still busy celebrating Valentine's Day, I am here to tell you about a beautiful little trip I took some time ago.

DSC01016.JPG

The place is called the Karavasta Lagoon and it is located in the middle-west of Albania, just over an hour away from our capital. Karavasta is one of the largest lagoons in the Mediterranean Sea and the largest in Albania.

DSC01021.JPG

This place offered me quietness, the simplicity of nature and priceless peace. It was so nice to realize that we don't need to take a long trip to find beautiful and soul-filling places. My boyfriend and I enjoyed a beautiful sunset falling over the see water and small sandy islands. Oh, and the food we ate afterwards thereby was exquisite; literally, one of the best meals I have ever had.

DSC01000.JPG

Unfortunately, Karavasta is not so much visited by people, which is maybe also another reason why I experienced it in such a positive way. Karavasta is well known for hosting a broad variety of types of birds. BirdLife International has classified the lagoon as an Important Bird Area. The most famous bird residing at this wild and beautiful area is the Dalmatian pelican.

karavasta 1.jpg

karavasta 2.jpg
(Photo source for these two images and the first picture with the birds: https://www.mjedisisot.info/index.php/component/tags/tag/divjake-karavasta)

Also, there were not only birds around there. Look what a gorgeous scene we were amazed with, which my boyfriend caught on the camera:

DSC01013.JPG

Note to myself (and any of you): follow your nearest destination. Take a walk, explore the next neighborhood, visit the nearest city on a Sunday. There is a lot to make you feel better when getting in touch with new realities.

This is it from me for now; Cheers for joy!

Keep Steeming,
@thesteemamateur

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now