Recycled old onion results in new onions! Update from my garden.

About three months ago I posted about recycling an old onion. Here's that post for reference @growingmyownfood/recycling-an-old-onion-let
Well, 90 days later and I am happy to report good success. The onion that had sprouted was divided into several pieces for planting. For 90 days, I have eaten and trimmed green onions from the leaves. That's been a nice garnishment for my salads and soups.
This week, I dug up the onions as a harvest. img_20220601_133655_hdr

The bulbs were smaller than the original onion. I expected that might be the result. However, it's nice to have fresh produce and the onions look nice after a washing.
img_20220608_084353

There's another reason for pulling up the onions also. I planted the raised bed with running butter beans. The vines are growing quickly and I used the wire to train the runners.
img_20220601_134359_hdr

The same wire was used in my earlier crop this year of sweet English Peas. The peas have been harvested and were delicious. You can see that post here @growingmyownfood/harvesting-sweet-english-peas-delicious
The English Pea bed has been turned into a watermelon bed. Those seeds were planted last week and have just sprouted.

There's another reason to remove the onions from the raised beds because the onions give off a chemical that prevents the beans from taking up nitrogen from the soil. So the onions are gone and the butter beans are running up the wire mesh. I should have results from the butter beans in about 35 days.

The variety of butter beans is a family heirloom seed that we pass down each generation. The bean is smaller and white with a tender and delicious flavor.

So what's in your garden? I finally have a few tomato plants up and a few peppers, but not nearly as many as last year. Strawberries are going strong, as well as mulberries. I have a few potato bushes that came up from taters that I didn't discover last year. It's nice to see nature regenerate and do some farming for me!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments