Brown Eyes

I walked into the Police station with the two officers behind me. There were three other officers in the precinct.

It's my first time here, the smell in there was Putrid.

"Sit there" One of the officers I came in with pointed at a seat Opposite a dark, lanky officer.

"Good Morning" I said to the Cop.
He didn't reply. His eyes were squinted and focused on the paper he was reading, his neck throbbing with veins and a flushed face.

He seems frustrated and weary, He must have spent the night here.

"So you are the witness?" He finally spoke.

"Yes" I replied in a low voice.

*"Can you Speak Up?" *

I repeated Yes, this time a bit louder.

"In your Statement, you said he had a mask on. How do you intend to identify him?"

"I saw his eyes" I replied

"He had brown eyes and the hood gave him an upward squint on the left side. I will recognise him if I see him again." I added.

"You had better not waste my time!"

"I don't intend to" I retorted

He felt a flicker of irritation at my confidence. I could see it in his eyes. Another brown eyes.

They showed me some hood pictures and asked which type the robber was wearing.
An hour passed, three of the officers including the one who doesn't like me for maybe delaying his shift this early in the morning took me into a room of 5 suspects.

They made them wear the hoods I saw on the robber and asked me to identify him.

After walking to each of them twice, I told themhe wasn't among the suspect.

An officer removed the hoods from the suspect while the Second led them back to their cells.

The angry Cop stared me down and tried to still is rage.

*"Haahaa, you can finally go home now, Jude. We can all see the displeasure in your eyes" * The officer with the hoods joking said to his colleague as he saw the stand off between us.

He covered him with one of the hoods from behind as he tried to joke with him to alleviate the mood.

Right there, I saw those brown eyes and the upward left eye squint for a second time.

img_0.6676317346586388.jpg


Prompt : Brown Eyes
Picture : Pixabay

The 5 minutes daily freewrites prompt, courtesy of @freewritehouse @mariannewest

Thank You for reading!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency