Day 94, Prompt: A Kiss - 5 Minute Freewrite Challange

39352_146156125396390_7853676_n.jpg

The time had finally come to say goodbye. We knew this moment was coming but we'd all dreaded it so much. How can you say goodbye to someone who's been in your life from the moment you were born? It's simply not possible. He was always there for me even when I didn't want him to be. You could never wipe the smile off of his face, nothing ever made him angry or sad. Life was simple and easy for him, he never had a care in the world.

He loved us more than anything and we loved him in return. I remember a time when I came home from school after being bullied and pushed around all day, I was in such a terrible mood. I walked up the driveway, opened the front door and there he was, sitting on the couch, waiting for me. I didn't have to say anything, all I had to do was be around him, cuddle him, and I knew everything was going to be alright.

How can I let go of him? How can I live without him? It's times like these when I question our existence and especially 'God' if there is such a thing. He was the kindest soul on the planet and yet he didn't have enough days, why can't we give him a few more? There's never enough time.

I kneel down so my heads against his. I look into his sweet eyes as the Vet euthanizes him. I smile and give him a kiss one last time, he smiles back before he shuts his eyes and lets go.

This post is in response to the #dailyfreewritechallenge posted by @mariannewest & @improv. Today's prompt was 'A Kiss.' If you're wanting to participate in the #dailyfreewritechallenge, just follow the link: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-94-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-a-kiss

Thanks for reading.

Until next time,

Meliss

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now