Catnip anyone?

IMG_20170607_144513_hdr.jpg As I have been walking around the yard lately I have noticed that the catnip is looking rather good this year and coming up in various new places as well. Catnip or nepeta cataria is a member of the mint family ,so it is some times called catmint. Besides cats loving it (hence the name)it also has many uses for us humans also. Its sedative type nature makes it great for calming the nerves as well as helping with insomnia. It also is great for nausea and because it makes you sweat you can use it for fever. I like to brew some up after a long day , just to help me relax and unwind. I pop some dried leaves into my trusty tea ball and depending on desired strength I let it brew for 1 to 3 minutes. You also can add fresh leaves to a salad or make a tincture out of it! Also it can be used as insect repellant as well. A recent study claims it is ten times more effective than deet for mosquitos . If anyone has luck with this let me know! Well I am @provider and keep on enjoying Gods beautiful playground!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now