Arepas stuffed With Tofu Chorizo

choriz6.jpg

I was inspired to try to make something that my friend @jennimorillo posted about. https://steemit.com/recipe/@jennimorillo/let-s-make-a-healthy-and-nutritive-arepa It's a South American dish called " Arepas" I didn't quite make it the same but I mimicked it in my own way.

I made carrot and green onion ones. They call for pre cooked corn flour but I really don't know what that is so I just used masa that is used for tortillas. It worked fine.

The flour was mixed with water carrots and onions than browned in a pan. After I put them in the oven for fifteen minutes. The oven step probably wouldn't be necessary if I had used more oil but I wanted to keep it as low in oil as possible.

bandleaf.jpg
choriz8.jpg

chorizo10.jpg

For the chorizo tofu I made a spice mix that called for pepper paste but I substituted with chipotle peppers in Adobo sauce. I added several herbs and spices and blended it together, then mixing it in the tofu and some chopped onion. It was baked in the oven at 400 F for about half an hour.

baner.jpg

ASC_2810.JPG

choriz.jpg

Slit the Arepas carefully and stuff. I added some avocado, tomato, radish, cucumber and green pepper.

leaf.jpg

chorizo1.jpg

For the Arepa recipe seehttps://steemit.com/recipe/@jennimorillo/let-s-make-a-healthy-and-nutritive-arepa posted by @jennimorillo

chorizo2.jpg

Tofu Chorizo

  • 1 brick of firm tofu
  • 3 tablespoons paprika
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt * 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/teaspoon sugar
  • 1 can chipotle
  • 1/cup water

choriz4.jpg

choriz5.jpg

leaf.jpg

signature.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center