More Than a Recipe for Dog Food

kaydee.jpeg

We all get back what we put out into this world, and that applies to how we interact with our pets. I have come to believe that our pets, just like us, live many lives and incarnate here to help us learn what we need to learn so that we become more enlightened in order to ascend from third density living. Our pets are voiceless and dependent on us to take care of them. You will never feel bad about loving your pets and treating them with extraordinary kindness.

L and L Research’s “Law of One” teaches us that we have two paths to chose from, service to self or service to others. One path leads to ascension while the other leads to more incarnations on this third density planet until the lessons are learned. I think you can guess which path leads where. Those who are the voice for pets and animals in general, and those who make sure that their pets are well cared for are already learning and living the lesson of unconditional love, a major lesson that we must all learn in order to move on to lighter densities. Those who look out out for the good of all are vibrating at a much higher frequency than those who live their lives in service to only themselves.

“Please let me be the person my dog thinks I am,” is a quotation that has always stuck with me. Dogs love us, unconditionally. When it seems like the rest of the world and the people in it are judging us, our dogs offer us that feeling of “we’re perfect just how we are.” Their opinion is the only one that counts! Although they do not ask for it, they deserve to be treated like the angels they are. One way to treat them that way is by making homemade food for them.

peanut butter dogs.jpeg

Vinny, Kaydee and Tanner

The poodle that was a part of my family when I was growing up lived to be 23 years old. My brother and I grew up and moved out, but my parents still had our poodle Jackie for a few more years before they were empty nesters. I know one of the keys to Jackie’s longevity was the healthy food he ate.

My mom was a full-blooded Italian. Like all of the Italians in my world, she knew good food. I remember how when I was a child she would make not-so-nice comments about the food that “Americans ate.” She couldn’t believe my friends ate pasta out of a can or red sauce from a jar. “You roll a dog turd in peanuts, call it a candy bar and Americans will eat it,” I remember her saying more than once. My mom had a heart of gold, and her own unique way of calling things out for what they were. She wasn’t a hypocrite, and her philosophy on food extended to our dog Jackie.

When Jackie first came to live with us, she did give him dog food. “The vet said to not give him table food,” she said. Well, her common sense trumped the vet’s lack thereof. It wasn’t long before the commercial dog food caused our dog to puke and mom knew "that garbage food” was the cause of it. So, she cooked for our dog like she cooked for us. Jackie enjoyed years -twenty-three of them- of homemade meals. I imagine he ate foods that most people have never even tasted like homemade manicotti, lasagna pizzard, braciole, haddock with cheese sauce, and much, much more.

spices.jpg

What I learned from my mom about feeding dogs has always stayed with me. I cook for my dogs. I have three of them, so I make my food in large batches and freeze part of it for future use. When we had only one dog I fed him a fully raw-food diet, but that became hard for me to keep up when our pack grew by two more dogs as well as two kids.

Making homemade dog food is easy. I use a crock pot so that I can let it cook while I’m away from home. I use organic ingredients because the philosophy behind eating organic extends to all of the food I buy. Even though we do not want to feed our our pets processed grains like wheat and corn, I do use brown rice. It agrees with my dogs who are now 16, 13 and 12.

The equipment you need is a crock pot.

Ingredients
Meat of your choice. I use at least 5 pounds of meat per batch because I have three dogs. I usually use ground beef or boneless chicken thighs. If you use meat with bones take the bones out.
1 cup Brown rice, less if you use less meat
1 cup of lentils
28 oz can of crushed tomatoes
bag of frozen mixed vegetables
Himalayan pink salt
dried parsley flakes
dried basil flakes
dried oregano flakes
dried rosemary
dried turmeric powder
cumin
kelp flakes
water

Method

  1. Place the meat in your crockpot.
  2. Sprinkle the meat with the Himalayan pink salt and the spices. Adjust the amount according to the amount of meat you use. I used about 5 pounds of meat, so I sprinkle in a couple teaspoons of the salt and a about a tablespoon of the other spices. Adjust as you need to.
  3. Pour the tomatoes over the seasoned meat.
  4. Pour the rice and lentils over the tomatoes.
  5. Pour the vegetables over the rice and lentils.
  6. Now, add enough water to almost cover everything.
  7. Stir to incorporate everything.
  8. Set your crock pot on low.
  9. Cook for about 5 hours. Longer if you use a roast with a large bone in it.
  10. When finished, let cool. Then give the food a thorough stir and divide it amongst food storage containers. Freeze any food that you will not use up in a week’s time.
    dog food.jpg

    Now, feed your dog as usual knowing that you are feeding him/her with nourishment for the body and soul.
    ground beef.jpg
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center