VEGAN MAC AND CHEESE WITH RICE PAPER BACON AND GARLIC ROASTED BROCCOLI RECIPE!

Hello Steemit! The last couple of days have been crazy at work hence the lack of posts but I am back with a classic dish for you all! I have also been working on a How I Became Vegan post with my thoughts and tips so stay tuned for that!

Mac and cheese is a classic comfort dish and I am yet to know anyone who doesn't enjoy it so of course I had to vegan the crap out of it. We have cravings too! There are many different types of plant based variations for a cheese sauce from cashew based sauces, vegetable soup like sauces and fake cheese sauces. The fake cheese versions are probably the least healthy but who really thinks of their health when they're ready for a bowl of mac and cheese am I right? This sauce is so versatile and I use it for my lasagne as well! My favourite way to serve it is with some garlic roasted broccoli and some rice paper bacon so I have shared the recipe for all three below!

MAC AND CHEESE SAUCE

Ingredients (4-6 serves)
2 tbs vegan butter
2 tbs plain flour
3 cups unsweetened almond milk
150 g vegan @followyourheart cheddar shreds
2 tbs vegan @angel.foodnz parmesan
1 tbs nutritional yeast
Pinch of cayenne pepper
Garlic salt to taste
Optional: pinch of chilli flakes

Method:

  1. Melt the butter in a pot and add the flour. Stir to make a roux.
  2. Add almond milk and stir until lumps are gone.
  3. Add cheddar, parmesan, nutritional yeast, and cayenne pepper and stir until completely combined.
  4. Add garlic salt and chilli flakes to taste.
  5. Mix in with your favourite pasta and enjoy!
    Optional: Put it in a ramekin with some panko bread crumbs and cheddar shreds sprinkled on top and bake it until the bread starts to brown and the cheese starts to melt. Yum!

RICE PAPER BACON

Ingredients (makes approx 6 pieces):
1 tbs soy sauce
1 tbs maple syrup
1 tbs nutritional yeast
1 tbs olive oil
Pepper to taste
2 rice paper sheets
Optional: 1/2 tsp liquid smoke (this gives it a really smokey bbq taste - just don't get any on your hands because it smells like you smoked 10 packs of cigarettes)

Method (preheat oven to 220c):

  1. Line both rice paper sheets together and submerge completely in water and remove. It will go soft quickly so quickly cut the rice paper into strips and line on a baking rack lined with baking paper (a tray will be ok too but will be less crunchy and will take a bit longer)
  2. Mix ingredients in a bowl and use a brush to paint both sides of the rice paper with the marinade.
  3. Bake in the oven for 7-8 mins. Watch it carefully as it burns quickly.
  4. Let it cool down for 2 minutes. It will crisp up more once you remove it from the oven.

GARLIC ROASTED BROCOLLI
Ingredients
1 head of broccoli, chopped into bite sized pieces
1 tbs coconut oil
2 cloves garlic, chopped

Method (preheat oven to 220c):

  1. Mix all ingredients in a bowl
  2. Line on a baking tray ensuring they don't overlap and bake for 8-10 minutes. It is cooked when the tops start to brown!

I'm going to continue adding my recipes to the #veganuarycontest just to keep everyone inspired and motivated throughout this month!

Let me know if you give it a go!

If you like what you see here please follow me on my Instagram account for more food photos and to watch my daily life through my stories!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now