My experience with the Infamous Singapore Chilli Crab mmmmmm yummy

crab1.jpg

A trip to Singapore's China town and the famous Singapore Chilli Crab.

Anyone visiting Singapore needs to experience the famous dish of the Singapore Chilli Crab, it's messy, it's hard work but delicious.

I'm not a fan of seafood, but sometimes you just got to put yourself out there and try something new. I had read about the Chilli Crab in the in-flight magazine when travelling to Singapore from Glasgow Scotland. It came highly recommended and was labelled as a must try for anyone visiting Singapore.

I ordered some other Chinese dishes while I awaited the arrival of the Crab. This had taken away the hunger generated from 11 hours of flying.

The Crab finally arrives, after around 30 minutes of waiting and I was given an apron, I remember reading about the need for an apron in the in-flight magazine. Seriously an apron for eating food? I'm not a kid anymore.

The dish looked amazing with the crab sitting in a rich orangy/red chili soup like sauce. mmmm time to dig in. I went for a leg/claw whatever you want to call it and got stuck right in trying to break the shell to get at the meat.

crableg.jpg

Well what can I say, I was in a right mess with all this sauce/soup flying around and not having much success at getting at the meat. When I finally got access to a reasonable size of meat that was worthy of approaching my mouth, the taste was something else. The spicy sauce combined with the delicate flavour of the Crab was worth the hard work.

To finish it off I mopped up the sauce with some fresh bread rolls.

China Town.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center