WTF is a flexitarian anyway?

I was talking with a friend about my new-found consciousness and how I'm trying to eat less meat, save the planet and all that jazz..at home. I still eat meat when I'm out - a good burger, a perfect stake, pass me the pepperoni pizza! - and maybe on the weekend when I feel like. But in rest I'm moving towards plant-based diet.

He observed that I am a FLEXITARIAN!.
WHAT did you call me? , I jumped. No, seriously I did not hear it. But sounds dirty.


Every lifestyle needs a cookbook!

He explained that these people call themselves now flexitarians when they are mostly vegetarians but like, still eat meat and fish and whatever else they want when they feel like. Apparently it's a big trend this year and it's only going to get bigger as meat becomes more expensive and also, more people realize that eating meat is bad for the planet. It sounds to me like heaven:
Here we have a plan that is both delicious, easy to follow aaaand socially acceptable. Perfect, no people to heckle you about your food choices, no one to try to convert you to their food-religion and will the benefits of a clear conscious.

The savvy reader might wonder now if that's not actually a bit like cheating. I'd say is more like an open relationship. Sure, you love your partner and all that jaxx but sometimes you crave..and you give in to your cravings and everyone is happy.
WAIT: isn't "open relationship" code for "relationship...but with cheating"? Free pass to swipe and match and be guil-free while at it. What's the fricking point anyway? <-- theme for another blog.

Back to the main point...where do you draw the line from flexitarian to normalitarian. In my opinion, it's all about intent and effort. If you try to eat less meat and you try to incorporate more plants in your diet, refrain from buying meat at home and experiencing with vegetarian/vegan options then you..my friend!...are a Flexitarian!

Also, statistically, you are less dangerous for the animals around you so there's brownie points for that, right?

Anyway, I feel good about myself now so of course I had to get a huge stake to reward myself for this.
Baby steps...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center