Avocado Pesto with Zucchini Noodles - AvocadoContest

This is my entry to #avocadocontest held by @deliciousplants: Creamy Avocado Pesto with Zucchini Noodles

Even though I'm on a low-fat, plant-based diet and the amount of oils and fats I eat per day is very limited, I like avocados and I eat them every now and then, but no more then 3-4 slices per day. However, I had a huge avocado in the kitchen that needed to be used up soon, and I've just seen this contest on Steemit, as well, so I decided to create someting great out of it.

20180217_123547.jpg

Avocado Pesto recipe (serves 2):

  • 1 avocado
  • 1/3 cup extra-virgine olive oil
  • 3 cups firmly packed fresh basil leaves
  • 1/2 cup sunflower seeds
  • 2 tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 2 cloves garlic
    1 tsp white miso paste
    1/4 tsp Himalayan salt

Put all the ingredients except the avocados in a high speed blender and blend until it gets a nice, creamy consistency. Once it's done, add the avocado, and blend it again until smooth.
Serve it over fresh zucchini noodles, add some cherry tomatoes and roasted mushrooms on the top.

The original pesto is made of pine nuts, but you can have a very similar taste and consistency with sunflower seeds, too. As I'm currently travelling, I would have had a hard time searching for pine nuts in the grocery stores I guess, but sunflower seeds are easy to find everywhere, so I just kept it simple. Plus they are much cheaper than pine nuts, so that's another thing to concider. :)

This recipe is not low-fat at all, so I ate only a little bit of it and gave the rest to my travel buddy, with whom I'm travelling currently. To be honest, it was hard to stop myself from eating all of it...

As my final thoughts, I would like to say thanks to @deliciousplants for their great contests, which really inspire all of us to prepare nice, healhty, plant-based recipes. You guys rock, keep up the great job you do!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center