How do I change to a plant based diet?

I'm a 30 year old male with somewhat high blood pressure, overweight and always tired. Not using medication.

I want to change to a plant based diet - not vegan, just less obsessed with meat. How do I do that?

Status Quo

image.png
Here in South Africa we eat so much red meat, that chicken is considered a vegetable! We regularly snack of dried meat (called biltong and droewors).

I want to change that for my me and my family.

We currently plan every meal around the chosen meat basis. If we have minced beef - we'd consider what we can make as a side dish. If we have chicken breasts - we'd think what veggies can go with that. You catch my drift.

So up until know, I have tried to control the portions - having smaller servings of meat and bigger portions of salad / vegetables. Snacking on fruit and seeds. We don't consume bread / pasta.

Finding a new base for each meal

The problem is that I'm uneducated - I don't know how to plan a meal around fruit or vegetables.

What vegetables make a good basis for a meal like dinner?
I'm looking for easy meals to prepare - I don't want to make my own paleo pizza bases or bread dough. Not yet, at least.

PS: Is it normal to still feel hungry after consuming a meal with LOTS of fruit and vegetables? I don't know if it is a mental or physiological problem, but it feels like plants doesn't quite satisfy my stomach.

Any help would be appreciated!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center