FISH MARKET IN CAPRI, ITALY

Right folks,

My job takes me all over the world. I have to cook for rich people on board their yachts.

Here, I am with one of the deck crew collecting some fish in Capri. Very very Neapolitan in nature, the guys in there gesticulate enormously, charge a small fortune and are very loud. As you can see with my quick splicing operation of a video they were very busy loading all the fresh fish into the tiny trucks and delivering it all over the island.

We had a problem with the swordfish which I will explain, but the rest of the fish was fresh that day. So many places have 2nd and 3rd day old fish. With this fish monger I know it is fresh, especially in the summer, he has an incredibly high turnover, with supplying all the restaurants on the island .

Quick splice in the next video, as you can see I was shocked at what I discovered in the swordfish. Was it fish cancer?? a Tumor ? I was able to call my fish supplier in France, I also called my fish supplier in London and double checked with a friend of mine who runs a fish restaurant in Norway and they all said the same thing; When the fish fight and when the sword / nose pierces the skin that knot of weird stuff I discovered is part of the healing process.

Before discovering the weird thing in the fish flesh I sliced a bit off and quickly pan fried. So delicious, but I wasn't very confident in serving it until I worked out what it was.

It seems all swordfish have these things inside them and the chefs simply cut around them.

Not nice to look at though.

Michael

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center