The story of Songkran Festival and My Coconut Sticky Rice with Mango Part 1

It's summer in Thailand and a Songkran festival or Thai New Year.

Songkran is a water festival between 13-15 April of every year. It's a big festival like Christmas. Every member of the family are together. And you will definitely get wet when you go out.
songran.jpg

It's a long holiday, some people take a week off work especially if they're working for the government. Many people are wearing Thai tradition costume.
thai dress.jpg

There will be a traditional norther Thai market at the temple in my village tomorrow. So I will make some Coconut Sticky Rice with Mango for sale at the market.

They had the market earlier this year in February. I was selling some drinks and cupcakes.
market.jpg

.selling.jpg

temple.jpg

pagoda.jpg

Coconut Sticky Rice with mango is one of a must try dessert when you visit Thailand in summer from the beginning of March to end of May.

Today I've prepared all the main ingredients for tomorrow. I have to get up early than usual to cook some sticky rice.
main ingredients.jpg

To cook sticky rice, normally you have to soak the rice 2-3 hours before cooking but I am soaking it overnight like my mother used to do.
sticky rice.jpg

Since the sticky rice is a main side dish in the north. Every girl who's grown up in this part of Thailand have to know and have to cook it. My mother used to make me get up at 5 or 6 am to learn how to cook and once I can do it, it became my duty.

I'm quite excited about tomorrow! I'll put up the recipe and can't wait to make it.

Follow me @kitchenmadness

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center