Cool Creator Spotlight: Tasting History with Max Miller

I have dabbled in posting recipes in the past, and I have tried a few things I have seen here on HIVE from other authors. I also enjoy history podcasts and books. That is why a YouTube channel blending my interests in food and history is right up my alley. I highly recommend Tasting History with Max Miller.

Cool Creator(3).png
Image created in Canva

I also recommend the History of Philosophy podcast, and I remembered his episode about Hildegard of Bingen when I saw a recipe from her cookbook as the topic of a recent episode.

There is also a recipe for an old-time refreshment for everyone from field hands to congresscritters.

Are you interested in survival foods, emergency rations, and pre-industrial preservation methods?

What about food from ancient history? He even digs into some of the earliest written records and tries to translate them into modern menus.

If you are interested in food, whether from your own culture or edibles from around the world, I highly recommend exploring this channel for ideas. You can make all of them for yourself by following his instructions in each video. As most recipes say, ENJOY!

I have personally experimented with hardtack, and while it's not quite identical to his, it's essentially the same. Pemmican is on my radar as a thing to try, and I definitely plan to try making switchel. Which of his videos do you think looks most interesting? Drop your favorite link from that channel into the comments for a bonus upvote!

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Previous posts
Wesley Treat
Techmoan
Rose Anvil

dizzy d20 128.png

HIVE | PeakD | Ecency

If you're not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through PeakD. If you use my referral link, I'll even delegate some Hive Power to help you get started.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now