Sunday calling - Almond butter chocolate chip cookies

I've been fancying that new cookie Prêt A Manger has been doing but for some reason you can't get it anywhere these days. My local one is always out and the other day when I passed by a staff person said they're revising the recipe.

So I've been scouring the web for something I can make that will temporarily fill the void of the perfect cookie lost in reinvention.

I am in no disillusion that what I've created today is a near enough replacement, but it is yummy still and did the job. Also, I ended up baking a load though I just wanted ONE cookie. Who am I kidding, I had 2. Might go for another one after dinner.

For anyone wanting to bake some delicious cookies. They really don't take long to make.

What you need

  • 2 flax eggs (2 tbsp ground flax seeds and 6 tbsp water. Leave for 15 min.)
  • 125g almond butter
  • 3 tbsp coconut oil
  • 60ml maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 60g sugar
  • 140g flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 100g dark chocolate chips

How to make them (about 15 cookies)

  • Pre-heat the oven to 175°C.
  • Mix in the dry ingredients in one bowl. Set aside.

  • Mix in the wet ingredients in a bigger bowl (not yet the choc chips) and mix the almond butter well so it is all smooth.

  • Bit by bit, add the dry ingredients to the wet batter until it is all mixed together.

  • Stir in the chocolate chips.
  • Scoop little balls onto a baking tray with baking paper and press them down a little.

  • Bake for 12-15 minutes at 175°C.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now