Food Adventures 3 : Filippou . A traditional, family, Greek restaurant.

After eating at two Indian restaurants, I wanted to go back to my roots. And what better place than Fillipou Restaurant in Ksenokratous 19 , Kolonaki. It's one of the oldest existing restaurant in Athens with almost a century of history.

Screen Shot 2018-03-13 at 18.40.54.png

Now we have reached third generation of owners Kostas Filippou and his wife ( and my good friend ) Patricia.
This is their website : https://www.filippou.gr/en/

Location and Environment

It is located in one of the oldest and most glamorous neighborhoods of Athens Kolonaki. And you won't describe as glamorous but it has a more vintage "old Athens" feel to it. You can see the decoration. Photos of famous artists, poets, politicians. And the costumers are "native Athenians" people that eat there for years and they seem to know each other. It's a really family restaurant.

IMG_20180313_140851_resized_20180313_063628538.jpg

I stare at the wall and I start to recognize faces. There is Karezi an amazing actress with the most melancholic eyes in the world. Melina who was famous for her struggle to restore the Parthenon marbles. Elytis who was awarded a Nobel prize. This is …

Food and Service

"What do you want to have, sir?"

Call that a rude awakening, but I was also hungry. I asked for the catalogue and here's what I got… A tablet…

IMG_20180313_142031_resized_20180313_063628898.jpg

The aesthetics may be vintage, but Kostas and Patricia know a thing or two about tech. I scrolled through the menus and ordered.

First dish, traditional spinach pie with cheese. Crunchy and tasty , but not heavy at all. Just right to keep me occupied until the main dish arrives.

IMG_20180313_143306_resized_20180313_063628349.jpg

Beef liver with oregano and French fries. Yes, French fries. Guilty as charged. But, today I have took 12673 steps , so spare me. The liver is fresh, tasty and cooked just right. The fries , are fries , enough said.

IMG_20180313_144157_resized_20180313_063628714.jpg

My take

I eat slowly to absorb all the flavors. And I start to notice the people around me. Business men , everyday people , tourists … A couple of delivery boys carrying packets of food. I finished my lunch and ask for the sad one. This is how call the bill sometimes. But I wasn't sad since prices are fair, the quality of food is great and service is to the point despite the rush hour.

To be honest I was little bit saddened cause I couldn't talk with Patricia. She was like a maestro in her spot. Taking orders , giving orders , talking to the phone , talking to the waiters, talking to the stuff in the kitchen, making sure everything is in tune. And it was…

This ensemble at Filippou restaurant doesn't deliver music.

It delivers a great traditional Greek food experience.

I briefly told bye and headed back home …

And until the next food adventure…
Be Healthy, Smile and Steem.

footer.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center