Eating Out in Athens : Exotic Curry Palace

Today, I took my good friend Damianos @thesocialpreneur and went for a food adventure. We explored the area around his office at Omonoia Square and decided to sit at a traditional Indian restaurant called "Curry Palace".

We prefer places that are not for tourists but serve native people from that region. Sometimes this approach works and sometimes not so much.

This restaurant is located at Geraniou Street , Athens and the moments you step into the door you enter another world. Low lights and a big TV that plays a Bollywood movie (?). Indian and/or Pakistani people are sitting all over the place. Some of them are eating, some are discussing and some are occupied with their mobile phones. Could they send messages to their parents or loved ones that are left behind ? Who knows …

We sat in a corner that was the least crowded. And while we were waiting for our order we could hear the sound of people talking, almost like a whisper. We couldn't hear what they said and even if we heard we wouldn't understand... We were the only westerners there…

And the smell… You couldn't help noticing the smell of curry. Always there , always present. You could close your eyes and you would be at the small packed streets of Delhi…

Step out of the dream and enter our lunch …

For starters, we had a crunchy spicy pie , that I don't know the name .

IMG_20180305_143248_resized_20180305_062938430.jpg

For the main dish, I took rice with kachiri beef and a pie. As you can see it was a big serving, but quality wise was mediocre. Especially the meat.

IMG_20180305_145321_resized_20180305_062938607.jpg

IMG_20180305_150028_resized_20180305_062938237.jpg

And it was expensive for traditional restaurant standards. I paid 11 euros and to be honest now I wonder if they had "special prices" for foreigners. I guess I'll never know…

What I know is that I won't prefer it again. The previous Indian restaurant we went a month ago it was the same quality, but half the price. Of course , I don't regret the choice . Let's say I paid a ticket for a mental journey to a place far away … And journey was fun …

And hopefully, I took you together to that journey.

And until we explore more exotic places …
Be Healthy, Smile and Steem.

footer.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center