Eating For Around $2 Per Day - Food Challenge

SNAP FOOD CHALLENGE.png

My Personal Challenge To Live On A Food Stamp Budget

I have been living on a food budget of just $29 per week for the past two weeks. This is the start of my third and final week of this challenge. I am ending after three weeks because I am headed to STEEMFEST!

For my challenge, I have created additional rules to simulate the situation that people on SNAP benefits might be in.

  • I can only shop at the 99 Cents Only store. This is to simulate being in a 'food desert' - an area that lacks traditional grocery stores.
  • I can't use my microwave or oven to cook. Some people might lack a fully functioning kitchen.
  • I started from absolute scratch. Not even the salt and pepper I had in my kitchen was usable.
  • Additionally, I created a hardship that someone on food benefits might find themselves - my EBT was not reloaded due to a government error. So for this last week, I added no food besides two key limes I found on the street.

    Here is what I ate today.


    WEEK 3 DAY 1 BREAKFAST - $0.22


    W3D1 Breakfast.jpg

    Banana oat pancakes. I had two bananas leftover from last week, but they were getting mushy. I used one in this oatmeal pancake batter so the flavor is infused inside. Otherwise, these are just some basic pancakes topped with a little margarine.

    I made a batch of batter, I think I will get three breakfasts out of it.


    LUNCH - $0.96


    W3D1 Lunch.jpg

    Another portion of the spaghetti with Mexican squash. I am so happy when I get a meal like this as I am a pasta fiend!


    DINNER - $1.02


    W3D1 Dinner.jpg

    I was thinking about what I could do with my basic ingredients like eggs, milk, and flour that would score me a few meals. At first, I thought of making pasta. But I had never made it before and I don't have a pasta maker so rolling it all out seemed like a chore.

    Then I came across an idea that required no rolling - Spätzle (or Spaetzle)!

    Just a few cups of flour and a couple eggs, some salt, and water or milk. Mix that all up and then use a colander over a pot of boiling water and let the mixture drop in through the holes. Wham, bam, a few minutes later they all float and then you fry them up a bit.

    I cooked some bacon in the pan and let the spaetzle fry in the bacon grease. Topped off with some asparagus, avocado toast, a cookie, and a tall glass of milk. :D


    DAY 2 BREAKFAST - $0.30


    W3D2 Breakfast.jpg

    4 smaller pancakes and half a peanut butter sandwich.


    LUNCH - $0.70


    W3D2 Lunch.jpg

    A portion of the bacon and asparagus spaetzle with a cookie.


    DINNER - $1.20


    W3D2 Dinner.jpg

    Queso tortilla with a bean and avocado dip, plus fries and a glass of milk.

    My milk has a 'best before' date of October 22nd so that's why you see more glasses of milk in my meals.


    Week 3 day 1 total: $2.20

    Week 3 day 2 total: $2.20

    I don't plan for the totals to come out to $2.20, they just do! I seem to be averaging out in the $2.08-$2.25 range per day. I feel confident enough to state that to eat a minimal variety of food in America today it will cost a person between $2-$2.25 every day.

    I mean I could just eat buttered noodles for my meals and it would be cheap, but lacking variety and vitamins. I believe that my meals show a decent amount of both of those elements.

    What do you think of all my meals so far? Am I going about it all wrong, or am I in the zone with my limited budget and all those extra challenges I placed upon myself?

    H2
    H3
    H4
    3 columns
    2 columns
    1 column
    Join the conversation now