Low carb spring rolls

So I decided to make spring rolls for supper a few nights ago. As I am trying to be as low-carb as I can, I used cabbage leaves instead of rice paper, and then baked them for 15 minutes.

2017-05-22 19.32.29.jpg

I had marinated some chicken the night before, grated some carrots and fried some muchrooms (as seen in picture). Then I placed the cabbage leaves individually in boiling water and left them cooking for a minute. This process is called blanching (I believe). What this does is that it makes it pliable and less prone to breakage. Just be careful and use tongs as I was not that smart!

2017-05-22 19.32.35.jpg

Once out of the water, I placed some chicken, carrots and mushrooms and folded it up like a wrap (basically top, side, side, and then roll till the end). Then I placed them on a baking tray and baked them for 15 minutes in a 180 celcius degree oven. The cabbage does not burn in the oven as it is quite moist.

VERDICT!!!

I like them and so did my youngest, but my eldest and husband were not impressed with the crunchy-crunch-crunch that comes with eating cabbage. So next time I will boil them for a bit longer and hopefully it will be less crunchy-crunch-crunch!

Can you offer any other alternatives for the fillings? Any other substitutions for the rice paper? Let me know. Thanks for stopping by!

Follow me!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now