The Natural Pregnancy Diary : Garlic & Herb Vegetable Spelt Spaghetti

The Natural Pregnancy Diary : Garlic & Herb Vegetable Spelt Spaghetti


I was grocery shopping at Whole Foods yesterday when I came across organic spelt spaghetti. Like quinoa , spelt is an ancient grain that is very high in fiber and protein. My doula has recommended I stay away from wheat and white flour products during my pregnancy so spelt is the healthy alternative.

IMG_6447.JPG

Ingredients:

  • Nature's Legacy Organic Spelt Spagetti
  • Spincach
  • Scallions
  • Mushrooms
  • Asparagus
  • Cherry tomatoes
  • KerryGold Garlic & Herb Butter
  • Heavy Whipping cream ( optional, not pictured)

First, set your boiling water for the pasta . I usually add virgin olive oil and salt to mine to give the pasta some taste . I don't add the pasta until the water begins to boil because spelt pasta takes about 6-8 minutes to cook. Chop and dice the vegetables to your liking .

Next , in a median sauce pan heat the KerryGold Garlic & Herb butter and add the chopped scallions . Sauté for about 2 mins in medium heat then add spinach and asparagus until tender. Add the mushrooms , asparagus & cherry tomatoes last. Simmer until all vegetables are tender .

I added heavy whipping cream for texture . ( Not the best pic, but delicious lol)

FullSizeRender-1.jpg

Drain your spaghetti and add vegetable mix . Enjoy !

IMG_5295.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center