Legendary Foodie Cooks For You!

Actually I may not be a legendary foodie. I may have overstated that case just slightly. This is my first ever food related post anyplace.

I am, with out doubt, a legendary eater. I have the profile to prove it.

This all comes about due to several factors. I have changed my diet to a more plant based consumption. I have read and tried several recipes in my time on Steemit, most notably by Princess MewMew, Heart to Heart and MissDeli. I am inspired by the three of them to give some back.

Chicken Stir Fry

I've been cooking for a long time. My mother gave me a good background in the kitchen and I started in self defense during my first marriage. I have been cooking ever since.

The key, as you will see, are perfectly measured and placed ingredients. Everything in it's place and a place for everything.

I start with a chicken breast bought fresh from the local meat market.



Sorry Heart to Heart. Guess I wrecked your Vegan fantasy pretty early.

I want to slice it into bite sized bits. Yes, I use an old school butcher knife that was my mother's. Sue me. Three quick licks on the steel and it is sharp as new.

I slice the long way first about 1/2 inch wide. 12mm is close enough, and you don't have to get your ruler out to do this. I then turn the cutting board 90 degrees and slice the short way. That will pass for bite sized in my kitchen.

Now comes the first real secret. I want to use some plum sauce in my dish so I use the first precisely measured ingredient. I put the cut up chicken into a 1 gallon (4 liter) plastic bag with the plum sauce that I have left. Probably 2 TBS exactly. I leave plenty of air in the bag and mix the plum sauce thoroughly with the chicken like this.



Imagination required.

Pop the chicken in the bag in the refrigerator. It's time to cut the vegetables.

It's the day before market day so my vegetable choices are limited. There are some that are past the peak of freshness and must go into the mix. Bok Choy, I'm looking at you.



Just the Facts

I love Red Onion. The Asparagus was such a good price when I was last at the market, and it's ready to go. It sorta looks like bamboo so that's how it fits in a Chinese dish for me. The orange bell pepper was really ready as was the Bok Choy. There should be fresh Ginger in this picture, but I forgot and it's time is later.


Unstirred Stir Fry.

I put a precisely measured two glugs of Sesame oil in the bottom of the wok. Not enough to deep fry, but enough that I won't have to spend the rest of the day chipping chicken particles out of the wok. I then put the marinated chicken in the pan, followed by the onions. Next are some frozen veggies that I had on hand. I put them in the pot early because they taste so much better thawed than frozen. Fire up the burner to just under medium heat.


The Joy of Cooking Hidden

I actually just included this picture to show of my newish wok. It's really cool and cleans up really easily. Very important to me. I actually use a kitchen timer for this phase. 7 minutes (7 metric minutes) because while my time sense isn't as lacking as my dogs I have been known to get distracted from time to time.



Peeled Ginger

It was then that I discovered I had forgotten the Ginger. I peeled this precise amount and sliced it fine. It really should have been in the oil with the chicken right at the start, but, you know... I put it on top and replaced the lid.


Ready to Stir.

Plop the rest of the veggies on top and prepare to do the stirring part of stir fry. I wish I'd have had some mushrooms and snow peas left, they would have worked really good here too. Ah well. It takes a bare minimum of 27 stirs to finsh stir fry. 241 times is too many, so take your favorite number in between and go for it.


Luncheon is Served.

That's it, that's all there is. I spent quite a bit of time arranging it on my finest China so the picture would do it justice. This is only a precisely measured half, the rest goes in a Tupperware for tomorrow. I think I'll serve that over rice since the cooking is done.

Bomb Aptly! Which is some fancy language for enjoy!

This is done with the deepest apologies to the fore mentiond real cooks. Connie will return from a short hiatus soon. I really know what I do well. Ride.

All words and photographs in this post are mine. For better or worse

You want some real motorcycle travel? Check out Velimir. That’s some kind of motorcycle writing.

Adsactly is a society for freethinking people. Interested? Click Here to join our Discord channel.


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Thank you!


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center