Take a Chance, pt. 9 (a five-minute #freewrite)


It had all gone awry. I left the house this morning to go on my own personal adventure, to free myself from the clutches of an insane housemate, to live in the city where no-one would know my name or face. Of course, that's not what actually happened... and now, here I was, staring down a cliff-side that plunged down at least 10,000 feet. 20,000 feet. Or perhaps it was only 100 feet. I didn't know. I couldn't tell. It was a steep drop; that's all that mattered.

Joey giggled maniacally at my back - 'maniacally,' I don't think he knew any other method of giggling - and dragged me down into the giant pink inflatable wading pool that now served as a makeshift canoe.

"Are you ready, Jen-Jen?"

I clenched my fists and closed my eyes.

"No."

"I said, are you ready?"

"No," I repeated.

"Oh, good," Joey clapped my back and sniffed loudly, deliberately. "I think the pizza is ready."

I snapped my eyes open and whipped around.

"What pizza?"

"Gotchaaaa!"

His grin widened and he shoved the makeshift canoe down the cliff-side, jumping in behind me in the nick of time.

"WOOOOOOOOOOOO!" he shouted.

"FUUUUUUUUUUUUU-" I screamed.

CRASH!

We came to an abrupt landing and my face smacked into something goopy, sticky, and stinky as I tumbled out of the wading-pool-canoe.

 


 

Hullo! It's been a while since I left Joey and Jenny stranded atop Esrann Canyon with a pink pool and no-where to go. :D I wonder where they'll end up next!

It's Day 640 of @mariannewest's five-minute #freewrite - the prompt for today isss... awry - and this is what I came up with before the eggtimer website beep-a-beeped at me. :)

You can find today's challenge at the following link:
https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-640-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-awry

This is Part 9 of a Joey and Jenny adventure! You can find the other Parts here:
Part One - prompt nap
Part Two - prompt hippo
Part Three - prompt posted
Part Four - prompt canyon
Part Five - prompt paralysed
Part Six - prompt library
Part Seven - prompt champagne
Part Eight - prompt pink baby pool

The header image used is CC0 and courtesy of Pixabay! :D

Thanks for stopping by and having a read!

 




Half Past the Moonfall is Now Available OFF Amazon


moonfall.png

Smashwords eBook Buy on Smashwords Your Own Price
Barnes & Noble eBook Buy on Barnes & Noble $2.83 USD
Amazon Kindle Buy on Amazon $3.99 AUD
I also accept STEEM/SBD! Contact me on Discord - kaelci#5179
 





Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://steem.kaelci.net/2019/07/23/take-a-chance-pt-9-a-five-minute-freewrite/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now