Challenge #04188-K170: Kill List

kelly-sikkema-N2ToUbKBsUw-unsplash.jpg

The lucker who was a killer meets again with their allies, Sunshine and Jay. The two invited the individual because they did need a third pair of hands. This case was going to take a while.
@internutter/challenge-03986-j334-outsourcing-horror -- Anon Guest

Poetry. Art. Culture. Always held away from the more common throng. Always used as a means by which to point and laugh at those artificially held apart from the more valued media. Ridiculous, considering how often those prone to sneering simply use that art as tokens of exchange. It's why I memorised a lot of culture.

One such example has come to my mind in recent days. Late last night upon the stair/ I met a man who wasn't there/ He wasn't there again, today/ Oh how I wish he'd go away!

A silly rhyme for children... but lately? I'm the one who wasn't there. Like Odysseus, my name is Nobody, I come from Nowhere, and I am not here, or I was never there. I'm just lucky that way. And yet, despite all of that those two keep finding me.

I normally trust in my luck, and I suspect it might be telling me something, but I do not interpret it easily.

I was in the midst of finding a way into the gilded corridors of the current polity's oligarchs. They had an interesting application program that I had yet to figure my way around. In the meantime, I had found a place nobody was using and spent some of my free hours fixing it up.

I was returning from a sojourn for hardware supplies when I found Mr Sunshine waiting quietly on a garden bench. He was feeding the little finches some small seeds.

"I'm not joining Pax Humanis," I said. It was almost a reflex.

"I'm not asking," said Mr Sunshine. "I am, however, offering assistance and in turn begging your help."

It was a simple deal. They helped me get into my target area, and I helped them... creatively eliminate the ones on their little list. They let me call 'dibs' as it were.

It was a long list.

They never would be missed. Well. They might be missed by their fellows on the list... but their anguish would be as short-lived as they were about to be. There were four others, according to Mr Sunshine, who were also working on the list. Fellow hunters of the unjust.

We were about to reign in terror over all of them.

They could get me in, and with the use of my luck, the rest of them could also get where they desired to cause the most trouble. Lucky for them. Lucky for me.

Lucky for... us... I suppose.

I'm starting to think that, perhaps, Pax Humanis might be better for me than I initially thought.

[Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends! Or visit my hub site to see what else I'm up to.

Send me a prompt [73 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center