Challenge #04111-K093: Consider This...

mingwei-lim-ljVLG7qX0g8-unsplash.jpg

Could we have the trio meet up again and work together?
@internutter/challenge-03986-j334-outsourcing-horror -- Fighting Fit

The ones who hold their employees in stables with no beds. I've got them on my list. The ones who play psychotic games with any servant's heads. I've got them on my list, they never will be missed.

What continues to surprise me is the lists I receive.

It's disturbing for multiple reasons. One: the CRC knows about me. Two: They know where I am and what I'm doing. Three: They're letting me continue because I serve their purposes. Four: They know how to reach me when I'm not serving their purposes. Five: They know the kind of people I trust. I tolerate the disturbances. Barely.

The disturbance this time was that Mr Sunshine and his apprentice, Jay, were waiting for me in the spaceport.

They had another list of people who would never be missed. And a nice meal of some favourites of mine.

Mr Sunshine made the offer. "I have here a letter of invitation to Pax Humanis. You will be assisted in your efforts and a Companion will keep a more amenable contact with the CRC."

"It might even be more comfortable for you," offered Jay. "I can tell these meetings put you off. And... I'm the one who proposed the invitation. You can take it or not as you like. Uhm."

Mr Sunshine held up a hand, stopping Jay from babbling further. "It is a simple invitation with offers of incentives. Accept or refuse as you will. Refuse, and the current series of contacts will continue. Accept, and the CRC will negotiate to accommodate your comforts. It is something to consider."

The meal helped settle my nerves, but not enough. "I don't like orders. I don't like being controlled. I don't like leashes, no matter how soft or invisible they seem."

"All we ask is that you consider," said Jay. "In the meantime, we're honoured to work with you again."

"We have a kill order, and which messes would be most effective," added Mr Sunshine.

[Photo by Mingwei Lim on Unsplash]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends! Or visit my hub site to see what else I'm up to.

Send me a prompt [85 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center