Conscious Fasting = Luxury

Hey there fellow Steemers, you good? I hope so.

Image

For all of you out there who are thinking about fasting for a few days to get the health and psychological benefits of fasting or to just test your mind power a bit, I'm gonna write a few notes about my own fasting experience.

Fasting Protocol

So I'm currently half way through the first day of a 2-3 day (haven't decided yet) fast, where I consume only few spoons of liquid Himalayan salt, coffee and up to 4 spoons of coconut oil (a portion of which is enhanced by a full spectrum of cannabinoids). And a bunch of water of course.

As I read in Tim Ferris's "Tools of Titans", it is better to add some exogenous ketones and caprylic acid, to smooth out the carbohydrate withdrawal. None of those at my disposal currently so, let's see what's the carb withdrawal all about.

Conscious Fasting = Luxury

Earlier today, I was on a walk with my little doggie fella Dex, thinking about this whole fasting thing.

It became clear to me that, me being able to just decide that for the next two or three days I won't consume food as usual, is, in the end, a highly luxurious position to be in. First, you have to be able to know, that you do not have anything too physically or even emotionally demanding going on during the next few days, which in itself is a very comfortable space to find yourself in. Basically, you (kinda) know that there is not any imminent danger coming your way in near future, which is a feeling only so omnipresent in a highly developed society that many of us live in. There, immediately you have something to appreciate and be thankful for.

Secondly, by consciously choosing to fast you immediately put yourself into a higher position of thought, which I believe allows you to begin to have more control over your physical and psychical being. Now, I think this is exactly what allows us to be who we are, in a sense, not just mere puppets of the current chemistry of our bodies or let's say anandamide (dopamine) driven decisions. (ananda - sanskrit word, means 'joy, bliss, delight')

Choosing to fast is hierarchically higher decision than choosing to eat, therefore the immediate feeling of being more present occurs.

What do you think guys? Any personal experiences with fasting? If so, what is your reason? What benefits do you expect to get from this?

Cheers and good day to everyone, thanks for reading this far.

*For all the grammar maestros out there - I apologize, not a native English speaker, so don't trip.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now