Intermittent Fasting - An Honest Video Diary

E80A8644-8876-4A8E-9DD7-DC14EED5553F.jpeg

Hey Guys!

Last week I posted about my first week of intermittent fasting. I talked about some of the research and science behind intermittent fasting, and how my first experience had gone.

I was floored by how many people said they had either tried some form of fasting, or were interested in learning more about it. I want to say a big thanks to everyone who engaged on that post! It was so helpful to hear about your experiences. It was honestly pretty encouraging to see that so many of you had tried fasting with positive results.

If you want to check out my post from last week on Intermittent Fasting, I provide a bit more background on why i'm trying this, and what I hope to gain from it.

The 5:2 Plan - My Chosen Intermittent Fasting Style

There are many different types of Intermittent Fasting, but I have chosen to try the 5:2 Plan. This basically means that I eat normally five days a week - and then only eat 500 calories for two days of the week. Ideally, these will not be on consecutive days.

Also, ideally for me - they will not be on the weekends. Weekends are for brunch, good dinners and a glass of wine! (umm or two)

I thought that instead of just posting a vlog at the end of the week telling you how it went, I would actually take you along on the journey with me! I took video snapshots throughout the week to capture both the highs... and lows of intermittent fasting.

How Did My Body Feel this Week?

Overall, I was actually pretty impressed with how positively my body responded to the whole thing. I had a few moments where I really craved other comfort foods, but for the most part - I wasn't overly hungry. I was also careful to fast on days that I didn't' have any kind of social engagements. For example... fasting yesterday during the Superbowl would have been just plain mean! Me and my friends put together a pretty killer spread of pizza, wings, prawns, bean dip, salsa, meatballs, cookies and all sorts of game day snacks!

One thing that I learned is that even if I don't feel super hungry... I should still try to take in some protein on fasting days. One of the days I ate mostly just fruits and vegetables, and then was feeling it the next day.

Food Wins and Fails

In the post... I show me making carrot soup. I was SUPER happy with how this turned out! It was a simple recipe that ended up being very low calorie. I simply simmered a bunch of carrots with fresh onion, garlic, and ginger in a pot for a few hours with stock until the flavors had really permeated the dish. I then used an immersion blender to turn it into soup and added some salt, pepper, cumin and curry powder. A little garnish of cilantro... and it's ready!

CEC01484-ADE1-41A0-8E8B-E44C6CB9D14C.jpeg

To be honest, the soup was probably my best "food win" from the week. I was going to make cauliflower rice and some other fancy dishes, but I just ended up being too damn busy. Berry smoothies and rolled up lunch meat ended up being my saving grace this week!

Although I hope to have more beautiful and interesting dishes to share with you in the future... It just wasn't in me this week. :)


I hope that you guys enjoyed seeing my fasting journey this week! If you have any questions on intermittent fasting - please let me know and I'll do my best to help! Also, if you have any experience with fasting ... i'd love to hear about it! Big thanks to all of the amazing people who commented on my post last week detailing their experiences!

If you have any tips for me on what to do when you are craving nachos or sushi... i'm all ears! ;)




▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center