The Way of Kings - Brandon Sanderson


source

I LOVE THIS BOOK! Even though not many things happened, I enjoyed this THOROUGHLY from start to finish. I have some worries about the future though. Considering how long this book is, the slow set up has created many expectations of the past and incoming destruction. TOO many expectations of impending doom. Call me a cynic, but at this point, with how everything has been presented and the span of time and literal gods and endless death, it seems to me that it's "just" mankind that would disappear. Maybe even the planet itself, but I don't know. With how creation and destruction exist as concepts, it's just about a god recreating another planet and go from there. The doom just seems too vast for a single planet the way it has been presented up to now. I still have a lot of faith though!

Shallan and Jasnah both having some unique powers (based on radiant powers) is cool! Same as Kaladin and Shin having the same powers and based on another Radian order!

King of Kabranth. It's always where you least expect it. In a sense, I can see what he's doing. Those last words before death at the start of every chapter were very intriguing since they REALLY do see something. But killing everyone else... I don't see how uniting everyone is against his plans. Unless his salvation from the desolation is to ACCEPT it and be reborn through it.

PARSHEN WHAAAAAAAAAAAAAT. I totally didn't expect that. Even though first chapter mentioned that those stony creatures were called thunderclasts, I had assumed they'd be the voidbringers as well. I GUESS NOT. I really wonder what happened back then for them to go against mankind. And how it took 4500 years for the Heralds to stop the next and supposedly, TRUE desolation. The 100 desolations didn't seem to be that far off each other and Heralds quit and left except Taln who somehow kept the enemy (Odium?) at bay? I mean, if he alone could delay him for 1000s of years... it feels like something more could have been done? I often went back to 1st chapter and read it and now the "we let them think they won" makes so much sense!

I don't think I have any favorite character tbh, which surprises me (and also ensures they stay alive, since all my fav chars die ). Kaladin is a bit too stereotypical main hero and Shallan hasn't shown us enough. Dalinar is probably the best character in the book with his set of ideals and how he stands by them. I wish we all had a Dalinar in our lives!

My favorite NON-KYC crypto exchanges for trading cryptocurrencies.

Coinex

MEXC

XeggeX

Earn Grass Token

Terracore

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center