This content got low rating by people.

WAC 2019 Winner Recipe


Source

Just tried the WAC 2019 winning recipe today (as much as I could anyway), the 30g coarse grind/100ml/inverted/dilute with water thingy for the first time. Here's the link to the recipe if anyone is [https://aeromatic.app/recipes/wac-2019-winner-aeropress-recipe]
I've always been doing 15g or so to 200ml and this dilute stuff is actually really really balanced. The results are pretty surprising, I think it has the potential to result in a very tasty/balanced cup! I probably under extracted a bit though this time and maybe didn't agitate enough? but the bitterness is considerably less pronounced than on the 15/200 ratio brew, and I'm getting really nice complexity/sweetness in the middle that I wasn't getting normally
Might also need to dial in the grind, it's supposed to be a 7/10 coarseness and I just kind of set my Encore to about 20?
It uses a BUTTLOAD of coffee though, double my usual dose at 30g per cup lol, I'd chew through a bag at double my normal rate this way
HUGE puck at the end too haha. Oh also used double paper filter cause I don't have whatever fancy stuff the WAC winner was using. I think it does also give you some leeway depending on your particular brew/beans/etc, you can kinda adjust on the spot while tasting. I think the coarse grind actually helps to minimise potential overextraction.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center