DV Experiences: The Car Lottery (Again)

Previously I posted about how I was fortunate enough to score a BMW 320d for a 30 day rental period in Denmark (I had booked a small VW Polo type car class but received a no-cost upgrade).

Later I had to return the BMW and rent a 2nd car and as usual when renting I was highly curious what vehicle I'd actually receive. I can now reveal that after booking a Ford Focus (or similar) class vehicle, Europcar in Silkeborg, Denmark assigned me a:

Opel Mokka X



mokka - 1.jpg

I know. It's an eye-roller of a car for any enthusiast.

  • 1.4L turbocharged 4 cylinder engine (petrol)

  • 138 HP / 148 lb-ft of torque

  • Sold as a Vauxhall Mokka in the UK and Buick Encore in the US (also essentially like the Chevy Trax)

  • Available with a a 1.6L diesel engine with two power output levels: 108 HP / 221 lb-ft torque - 134 HP / 236 lb-ft

mokka - 2.jpg

mokka - 3.jpg

It was a perfectly useful piece of transportation. Also quite boring.

After returning the Mokka in Copenhagen I came away wondering what the appeal of small crossover vehicles like this is. The passenger capacity is adequate but the cargo capacity is quite small.

So small in fact that we fit only 4 pieces of soft sided, backpack-and-duffel-type carry-on luggage in the rear cargo area.

The only reasons I could think of for purchasing a Mokka instead of a similarly priced -and more sporting- car would be:

  • Headroom. The Mokka does have a lot of over head space.

  • The ability to sit at a higher elevation

The Vauxhall version in the UK starts at £18,455 and the Buick Encore version in the US tested by Car & Driver has a base price of $23,915.

Why not buy a better looking and more dynamic Mazda CX-3 (starts at just under $21,000) or the absolutely handsome "Engaging to drive" Mazda CX-5 ?

A VW Golf GTI is in the same price range as well.

What's Your Opinion?

  • Do you understand the appeal of the subcompact and compact crossover / SUV?

  • What vehicle would you pick in this size and price range if you were buying or renting?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now