Why being able to cook is one of the most important skills #9

As I wrote last time, learning how to cook was very important for me. I think everyone, especially dietician, nutritionists and experts per se, know and agree that highly processed food is in no way healthy for any human. It commonly consists of too much sugar, fat, salt (things we crave for because of our history) and all kinds of harmful, often unresearched additives that we don't need at all. Additionally those foods are stripped of all their nutrients and they therefor lack in fibre, vitamins and minerals. (all the good stuff)
If you wanna be healthy (and help the environment and the animals) you should definitely focus on whole foods, preferably from plant sources.
Sadly manly people don't know who to cook or prepare those foods in such a manner that it's delicious / tasty.
Luckily my mother taught me how to cook and it's really not hard to peel and cut some veggies, cook some whole grains and put all of it on a plate.
The difficulty is to prepare it in such a way that it meets your taste. I found out for myself that my taste changed over a longer period of time. I started to like certain things more if after changing my eating habits and sticking to some new foods. However that might take some weeks so it might be hard at the beginning.
This is where cooking comes in. If you are "advanced" you can really help yourself during the transition period, since you are able to help yourself by using spices and seasonings, dressings and sauces.
The great thing is that you can simple learn all of that by watching some videos or reading a cookbook if you wanna spend some money.
I myself spent some time watching all kinds of videos learning a lot of tipps and tricks that really simplified my cooking experience and helped along with the taste of my meals.
Just surf through Youtube and I guarantee you that you'll find loads of helpful videos. You might not like every single channel but there are so many out there that you'll discover at least one that appeals to you.
For me, cooking is an essential skill for survival (because prepacked, highly refined products slowly kill you) so I can recommend everyone to learn how to do it. Just keep up a curious mind and have the guts to try out new foods (the worst that can happen is that you don't like it) and experiment in your kitchen.

V
BJ

PS: Here's one channel that gave me a lot of inspiration, especially when cooking for friends to show them how delicious vegan food can be! Just try it our for yourself.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now