Back2Basics, cold and flu season without medication just my ferments.

Bit of pressure on me today with the topic.
In Perth we are having a shocking cold and flu season. So I am trying not to use any meds this season. My wife is with me. This is proving difficult as our 2 year old is bringing home all sorts of bugs. She is not included in the experiment as what we are using she would not palate.
So what do we use? Fermented foods and vitamin C. Of course what else would we use. We have had some real bad nights this winter. One of the awesome foods we had was fermented garlic. Got some garlic 2 months back and fermented it in salt brine. There have been days where I will eat 1 clove raw in the morning and night. Really gives you the sweats. But you are better for it. Another great vitamin and probiotic booster was the juice from my sourkraut. Of course we have Beet Kvass everyday.
IMG_8272.JPG
Now that stuff really stands you on your feet. When yo think the day is all too much and you are way too sick, a glass of that really helps. Made from red cabbage it has heaps of vitamin C in it and B's.
I must admit that panadol or any of they other meds only really masked the symptoms of cold and flu. These remedies really made a difference in how we felt rather quickly.
We are so surprised and a bit hooked. Nest year I will be trying the Master Tonic which is full on. Horseraddish, tumeric, ginger, chillies, onions in Apple Cider Vinegar fermented for several weeks.

ferments.jpg

Here are some of the ferments we tried this year. Kimchi, Kvass, different types of sauerkraut, salsa, garlic, onions, pears in honey, lemons in honey and so on. Plenty more to try with new seasons veg.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center