Skateboards, Weight Lifting & Crypto in Middle Age

Twenty years ago I never would have pictured myself lifting a barbell over my head in my mid-forties. As a young woman, I enjoyed activities like ballet and jogging, but weights intimidated me and seemed best left to the professionals.
ArtVndngMchn Team Deck by Marko Zubak is an NFT available in ArtVndngMchn Series 3
Upon moving to California several years ago, the skateboarders were entertaining to watch for a hot minute at Venice Beach, and my kids liked the Vans shoe store, but that was about all I knew of skateboards.

26993291_10155841337361542_169292820643159447_n.jpg

And, well... twenty years ago, Crypto as we now know it didn't even EXIST!

Life is exciting, isn't it?! And being open to new interests has helped to keep me young at heart, no matter how many birthday candles keep getting blown out.

For example, this morning I ventured out in the "cold" (for us SoCal-ers, that's about 50 degrees, yeah, I know, we are wimps) to subject myself to 45 minutes of lifting barbells, dumbells and exercising with harmless-looking little pink bands that actually are killers. But there is something that feels noble about doing something "difficult" for your first activity of the day and succeeding. I like to have the luxury of feeling like I can cut myself a little slack throughout the rest of the day since I already did a "difficult" thing; rather than feeling like I have to push through the day trying to catch up to some feeling of "productivity."

Health Wheels by Joe Chiappetta is in ArtVndngMchn Series 3

Ok, so why skateboards and crypto? Well, that would be to the credit of my husband, @joechiappetta. In my last post, I confessed to wanting to marry an artist and be his muse as a young girl. I got my wish. The thing about marrying an artist, is that, big surprise, they are creative! And you won't always understand exactly what they're talking about! And sometimes they will have ideas or do things that make you go, "Hmmmmmm." But because you love them, you will smile, try to understand what you can, and appreciate their enthusiasm and unique perspective. Our life together has very seldom been dull!

14470522_10154558662026542_2282572238069100747_n.jpg

I recall @joechiappetta first telling me about cryptocurrency.
My reaction: "What? So you mean it's like real money...but different? And it originally had something to do with Magic the Gathering the card game? And you think it will one day revolutionize the economy as we know it? And there's a person named Satoshi, who disappeared into oblivion?? I smiled and said, "Go for it babe! Just don't lose all our savings, alright?"

Flying Skateboard Wheels by Joe Chiappetta is one of the NFTs in ArtVndngMchn Series 3

So when Joe told me that his newest collection for the community art project he curates, ArtVndngMchn, was going to feature "CryptoSkateboards and Other Things that Fly," it really wasn't a stretch to once again: smile, admire his creativity and say, "Go for it babe!" Over 20 years of marriage has shown me that his creativity and ability to think outside the box has a positively proven track record.

SK8 Monster by @richardfyates in ArtVndgnMchn Series 3
Soaring Skateboard is an NFT by Sean O'Kana from ArtVndngMchn Series 3

I certainly can't presently ride a skateboard in real life. But then again, I never thought I would be lifting barbells either. So I'm going to put taking up skateboarding as a hobby on the "never say never" list. But, I certainly will admire some of these radical-looking skateboard NFTs from my couch, as I relax and recuperate from my workout this morning. Enjoy the day and all the best!

Horatio's Hypnotic Hallucinations by Bruce Bachelder & Mike Rende is in ArtVndngMchn Series 3

ArtVndngMchn Series 3: CryptoSkateboards and Other Things That Fly drops Saturday, February 26th, 9am PST on the Wax blockchain.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments