The Marion Island South African research team goes round island

We went on the our usual monthly round Marion Island earlier this month. I'll show you how we survive in the wild.

But first - penguins!

These are creched Gentoo penguins. They have grown so much.

Creched Gentoo penguins

Here is a colony of King penguin chicks. We were counting them on our round island.

colony of King penguin chicks

I know you were wondering, but were too polite to ask

So here's a photo of the hut and its toilet.

hut and toilet

We have 8 of these hut stops around the island to take a break and refuel.

That's the rarely spotted South African snow hiker

The next two photos are of me walking on very thick snow during my round island.

Thando in the snow 1


Thando in the snow 2

Sharing the luxury of our round island accommodation

That's me inside the hut. As you can see, there are two bunk beds, so only four people can sleep in each hut.

Inside the hut

That's me having lunch at the hut - 2 minutes noodles and Soya mince. Yummmmmy. I lost weight on this week-long trip!

Lunch in the hut

Thanks for all your support and comments so far. It really means a lot to me!


Images by @scienceguy and Paige Potter

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now