IS THIS EVEN LEGAL? - PAPA TAKES THE PLUNGE

Sometimes, you just have to risk it.


For those of you who know that I traveled to Cave Point County Park up in Door County, Wisconsin, you may have seen that some kids were jumping off of the cliffs there into Lake Michigan.

Now that was an opportunity that I was having a hard time resisting, but I was not sure if such activity was even legal. I even went and looked at the posted rules to see if they would give me any insight.

Nothing on the "official list" of prohibited activities mentioned it, so I decided to just go for it and see what happened.

PAPA TAKES THE PLUNGE

FREEDOM?

I personally find it unfortunate that one would even have to consider the legality of certain activities like this. Where I grew up, we would spend a lot of our summers jumping out of trees into local lakes, or swinging into them on huge rope swings. Eventually, it seemed that people who worked for the county would always cut them down. They got rid of a lot of trees around some of those lakes just to prevent us from having fun in that manner.

I find it sad that such outdoor activities are restricted, prohibited, and prevented. I know that risks are involved, but I know of more people who drowned in those lakes from just swimming than from jumping out of trees. (Actually, I can't even remember anyone getting hurt form jumping out of the trees into the lakes.)

After seeing signs like this posted in the area, I figured that any potential responsibility for my actions would rest on my shoulders, and I would be to blame for anything that happened to me.

I'm going to go ahead and conclude that I did not do anything illegal here, but I wish that I did not even have to consider it. I really want to head back and take some more jumps off of the cliffs, but we will see if time permits. I did have fun making the video though!

BONUS: A SHORT COMIC FOR THE "NON-VIDEO" FOLKS

I know that some people have limited data and others just don't watch the videos. When I watched the video myself, I thought that I said some pretty funny things in it, so I snapped stills from different parts of it to make this progressive comic. Enjoy it.

Cool-colored @papa-pepper artwork in cover image created by @shayne.


As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-papa-jumping



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center